~ Assemblymember

Monica P. Walla

Assembly District 143

Information on recent changes
to New York State unemployment insurance benefits

Dear neighbor:

Over the past week, millions have suddenly found themselves unemployed due to the COVID-19
public health emergency. While losing one’s job is frightening and disruptive, everyone should
rest assured that their needs will be met throughout and after this crisis. The state and federal
government have taken swift action to ensure that individuals who have lost work because of
COVID-19 will receive the pay and protection they need to weather this crisis, remain in their
homes, and revitalize the economy.

Below you will find information that | have compiled for the benefit of the recently
unemployed. If you have any questions, please reach out to my office at 716-686-0080 or by
email at wallacem@nyassembly.gov.

Stay home, stay healthy, and stay strong. We will get through this together.

How much unemployment benefits will I receive?

The exact amount of unemployment insurance you are entitled to depends upon your previous
earnings. In addition to state unemployment benefits, you are eligible for an additional $600 per
week, which will be added to your state unemployment benefits from now until July 31st.

Who is eligible to receive unemployment insurance?

All employees in New York State are eligible for unemployment insurance benefits. In addition,
under the recently-enacted CARES Act, individuals who would not normally qualify for state



unemployment benefits can receive benefits, including the self-employed, gig-workers,
independent contractors, and those with an irregular work history.

When can | apply for benefits?

New York State has waived the one-week waiting period for individuals who have lost work due
to the COVID-19 outbreak, allowing individuals to receive unemployment insurance benefits
immediately.

How long will I receive unemployment benefits?

Unemployment benefits are typically limited to 26 weeks, or roughly six months, per year. If
individuals are still unemployed after their state employment insurance benefits are exhausted,
the federal government will fund up to 13 weeks of additional unemployment benefits.

How do I file for unemployment insurance?

You can file a claim by visiting labor.ny.gov. You can also call the Telephone Claim Center at
888-783-1370. However, due to unprecedented call volume, the New York State Department of
Labor is strongly encouraging individuals who wish to file a claim to first visit the website, if
possible.

Due to enormous volume, the New York State Department of Labor systems are slow. Millions
of people have been flooding the phones and website in recent days. The department is doing its
best to serve each and every New Yorker. Please be patient. | have heard that individuals have
had more success in getting through if they try very early in the morning.
If you are filing a new unemployment insurance claim, the day you should apply is based on the
first letter of your name. A-F file on Monday, G-N file on Tuesday, O-Z file on Wednesday. If
you missed your day, file on Thursday through Saturday. Any claim you file will be backdated to
the date you became unemployed. If you are eligible, you will be paid all benefits due.
To file an unemployment insurance claim, you will need:
e Your Social Security Number.
e Your driver license or Motor Vehicle ID card number.
e Your complete mailing address and zip code.
e A phone number where you can be reached from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through
Friday.
The names and addresses of all your employers for the last 18 months.
Employer Registration number or Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) of
your most recent employer (FEIN is on your W-2 forms)
Your copies of forms SF8 and SF50, if you were a federal employee.
Your most recent separation form (DD 214), for military service.
Your Alien Registration card number (if you are not a U.S. citizen and have a card).



What is the Expansion of Unemployment Benefits I’ve heard about?

As mentioned above, a recently-passed federal law called the CARES Act creates a temporary
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC) of $600 a week for any worker eligible
for state unemployment compensation benefits. The FPUC of $600 is paid in addition to regular
state unemployment compensation benefits and is provided beginning April 5, 2020 through July
31, 2020.

The CARES Act also expands unemployment insurance to workers who are not normally
eligible for benefits, as long as the unemployment is the result of the COVID-19 pandemic. This
Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) provides benefits to self-employed individuals,
independent contractors, “gig economy” employees, individuals who were unable to start a new
job due to the pandemic, and individuals who do not have a sufficient work history.. The weekly
benefit will be calculated using recent information about their wages, but will be no lower than
half the state’s minimum regular unemployment compensation payment. In addition, PUA
recipients are also eligible for the $600 FPUC supplement.

To qualify for PUA, an individual must be unemployed, partially unemployed, or unable to work
because of any of the following circumstances:

e The individual has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or is experiencing symptoms of

COVID-19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis;

A member of the individual’s household has been diagnosed with COVID-19;

The individual is providing care for a family member or household member who has been
diagnosed with COVID-19;

e The individual is the primary caregiver for a child or other person in the household who
is unable to attend school or another facility that has been closed as a direct result of
COVID-19 and such school or facility care is required for the individual to work;

e The individual is unable to reach the place of employment because of a quarantine
imposed as a direct result of COVID-19;

e The individual is unable to reach the place of employment because a health care provider
has advised the individual to self-quarantine due to COVID-19 concerns;

e The individual was scheduled to begin employment and does not have a job or is unable
to reach the job as a direct result of COVID-19;

e The individual has become the breadwinner or major support for a household because the
head of household has died as a direct result of COVID-19;

The individual has been forced to quit a job as a direct result of COVID-19;
The individual’s place of employment is closed as a direct result of COVID-19.



Tips are considered part of compensation for unemployment benefits. Tipped workers who
qualify for unemployment compensation will receive the additional $600 FPUC on top of
their unemployment compensation payment like any other worker receiving benefits.

RELIEF FOR WORKERS

AFFECTED BY CORONAVIRUS ACT
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW AND DO ABOUT THE CARES ACT WORKEKS

The federal CARES Act was signed into law March 27, 2020. The Act provides enhanced Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) benefits and Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) for New Yorkers. Here’s what you
need to know.
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: Ul Benefits . Ul Benefits Ul Benefits** 7/1/19
Apply for Ul Benefits
H Online: labor.ny.gov/signin
Do nothing Phone: 1-888-209-8124
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Automatically receive either Ul or PUA benefits for 39 weeks
Plus an additional $600 per week available until 7/31/2020

\ 4

13 weeks of additional benefits
(Additional $600 per week available until 7/31/2020)

**labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/pandemic-unemployment-assistance.pdf

MORE INFORMATION:
See Frequently Asked Questions About Ul During the Coronavirus Emergency:
labor.ny.gov/ui/coronavirus-fag.shtm

To apply for Ul benefits file on these days:
Filing for Ul benefits is based on your last name.
A -F file on Monday | G- Nfile on Tuesday | O - Z file on Wednesday

Missed your day? File on Thurs-Fri-Sat
Revised v2 (3/30/20)




RELIEF FOR WORKERS ..
AFFECTED BY CORONAVIRUS ACT p i

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) WORKERS

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) provides payment to workers not traditionally eligible for
unemployment benefits (self-employed, independent contractors, workers with limited work history, and
others) who are unable to work as a direct result of the coronavirus public health emergency.

COVID-19 SCENARIOS

Diagnosed with COVID-19 or with COVD-19 symptoms and seeking diagnosis

NOT
COVERED

X
X

COVERED

Member of household has been diagnosed with COVID-19

Providing care for family or household member diagnosed with COVID-19

Primary caregiver for child unable to attend school or another facility
closed due to COVID-19

Unable to reach place of employment due to an imposed quarantine or
because advised by medical provider to self-quarantine due to COVID-19

Scheduled to commence new employment and cannot reach workplace as
direct result of COVID-19

Became major breadwinner because head of household died from COVID-19
Quit job as a direct result of COVID-19

Place of employment closed as a direct result of COVID-19

Self-employed / Independent Contractors / 1099 filers / Farmers
— and affected by COVID-19

Seeking part-time employment but affected by COVID-19

With insufficient work history and affected by COVID-19

Otherwise not qualified for regular or extended Ul benefits
and affected by COVID-19
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Individuals that can telework with pay

Individual receiving paid sick leave or other paid leave benefits
(regardless of meeting a category listed above)




