
 �The right to return your empties for 
refund to any dealer who sells the 
same brand, type and size, whether 
you bought the beverage from the 
dealer or not. It is illegal to return 
containers for refund that you did not 
pay a deposit on in New York State.

 �The right to get your deposit refund in 
cash, without proof of purchase.

 �The right to return your empties any 
day, any hour, except for the first and 
last hour of the dealer’s business day. 
Empty containers may be redeemed at 
any time in 24-hour stores.

 �The right to return your containers if 
they are empty and intact. Washing 
containers is not required by law, but 
is strongly recommended to maintain 
sanitary conditions.

To report a violation, call 877-846-8802

Bottle Bill 
of Rights

You have certain rights under the 
New York State Returnable Container Act:
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Dear Friend,
Good news for the environment–
the New York State Returnable 
Container Act (RCA, a.k.a. the “Bottle 
Bill”) continues to help us create a 
cleaner, healthier New York. The 
Bottle Bill greatly reduces roadside 
container litter and helps recycle 
billions of beverage containers each 
year at no cost to local governments.

I’d be glad to hear your comments or 
suggestions on how we might further 
improve the law in the future.

Sincerely,

Carl E. Heastie
Speaker of the Assembly

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007

212-312-1400
Room 932, LOB

Albany, NY 12248
518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov



The law:
 �Requires stores to post a “New York Bottle Bill of 

Rights” sign at the point of sale

 �Allows a dealer that is open less than 24 hours to 
restrict or refuse the payment of deposit refunds 
during the first and last hours of operation

 �Enforcement includes the Department of 
Environmental Conservation (DEC), the 
Department of Agriculture and Markets, the 
Department of Taxation and Finance, the state 
Attorney General and local governments

 �A retailer operating 10 or more stores in New 
York State engaged in the same general field of 
business under common ownership must install 
and maintain, unless alternative technology has 
been approved by DEC, a certain number of 
reverse vending machines (RVMs) based on the 
store’s square footage:

	 • �More than 40,000 square feet and less than 
60,000 square feet must install at least two 
RVMs

	 • �60,000 square feet or more and less than 
85,000 square feet must install at least three 
RVMs

	 • �85,000 square feet or more must install at 
least four RVMs

	 • �Does not apply to stores selling only individual, 
refrigerated containers of 20 ounces or less

The consumer:
 �Pays a 5-cent deposit when 

purchasing beverages 
such as beer, soda and 
wine coolers and gets that 
deposit back when returning 
the containers.

 �Can return empty containers  –  glass, metal 
or plastic –  to any store or vendor that sells 
the same size, type and brand of container. If 
a store does not carry a particular size or type 
of container, then the store is not required to 
redeem that container.

It’s helpful to rinse containers before returning them 
for a deposit refund.

Labeling
Beverage manufacturers must place the necessary 
deposit information on all of their containers. The 
information must be permanently embossed or 
painted on the containers or printed as part of the 
product label on the container. It must appear on 
the top of cans and on the side of bottles. The 
names of other states with similar deposit legislation 
may also be included on the refund label.

Refusal of acceptance of a beverage container
Dealers may refuse to accept the following:
	 • �any container that does not properly indicate a 

refund value
	 • �broken bottles or crushed containers
	 • �corroded or dismembered cans
	 • �beverage containers that contain a significant 

amount of foreign material, such as paper, 
sticks or cigarette butts.  Small amounts of 
dust, dirt or moisture are allowed. Although 
helpful, containers don’t have to be rinsed.

A dealer must not knowingly redeem an empty 
beverage container on which a deposit was never 
paid in New York State.

To learn more about the Bottle Bill, 
contact the New York State Department of 

Environmental Conservation, Bureau of 
Waste Reduction & Recycling

online: dec.ny.gov/chemical/8500.html
by email: nybottle@dec.ny.gov

✓ �Carbonated soft drinks, including sparkling 
water, carbonated energy drinks, 
carbonated tea and carbonated juice, which 
is anything less than 100 percent juice that 
contains added sugar or water

✓ Soda water

✓ Beer and other malt beverages

✓ �Mineral water, both carbonated 
and non-carbonated

✓ Wine coolers

✓ �Water, including flavored or nutritionally 
enhanced water that does not contain sugar

✗ �Milk products

✗ �Wine, liquors and 
hard ciders

✗ �Non-carbonated 
tea and juice

✗ �Waters 
containing 
sugar

✗ �Non-carbonated 
sports and energy 
drinks

✗ ��Drink boxes or 
pouches

New York State’s Returnable Container Act
What beverages are covered by 
New York’s Bottle Bill?

NOT covered by NY’s Bottle Bill:


