Goodell Congratulates Students On Completion Of Summer Reading Challenge

Thanks local children for participation
November 14, 2012

Assemblyman Andy Goodell (R,C, I – Chautauqua County), who sponsored the Summer Reading Challenge in conjunction with the New York State Library’s summer reading initiative, recently announced the list of successful participants.

To complete the challenge, students were required to read alone, or with someone else, 40 or more days over the summer. Students who met the challenge received a New York State Assembly “Excellence in Reading” certificate from Assemblyman Goodell.

“Reading opens the door to adventure, knowledge and academic success. These students should be proud of the dedication and commitment they demonstrated over the summer,” said Goodell. “I hope this reading challenge is just a small chapter in a lifetime of excitement through reading.”

The successful participants and their school districts or libraries include:

Bemus Point Central School: Sarah Nocero, Mohammed Shedeed and Britta Watkins

C.V. Bush Elementary School in Jamestown: Daisy Meyer, Ruby Meyer and Jordan Braymiller

Chautauqua Lake Central School: Evan Flurie, Noah Flurie, Natalie Gilkinson, Brendan Klossner, Logan Ludwig, Maranda Propheter and Ian Riedesel

Clymer Central School: Kaylee Hodge, Blake Kopta and Alexander Redlecki

Dunkirk School: Timothy Smith, Tyler Smith, Amari Carter, Marcel Carter, Neveah Carter and Brisa K Garcia Gonzalez

Fenner Elementary School in Falconer: Emily Melquist and Joseph Mihaly

Forestville Elementary School: Ace Fisher, Shawn Fisher, Alexis Serio and Cam Stana

Fredonia Central School: Joseph A. Cerrie Jr., Aidan Mohart, Madison Marsh and Eva Rose Wienke

Home School #1: Kamaron Hillman

Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Jamestown: Matthew R. Wilson

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School in Jamestown: Davier Eaton

Samuel G. Love Elementary in Jamestown: JeNiya Cromartie

Northern Chautauqua Catholic School in Dunkirk: James Beehler, Jessica Beehler and Kiara Boyd

Panama Central School: Elizabeth and Emma Lindsey

Persell Middle School in Jamestown: Michelle Prince and Morgan Robbins

Portville Central School: Mathew Bokman and Ryan Bokman

Ring Elementary School in Jamestown: Ethan Harris

Ripley Central School: Emily Brightman and Elliot Marie Thompson

Sherman Central School: Hanna Crossley

Silver Creek Central School: Jeffrey DeYoung Jr., Rebecca DeYoung and Isaac W. Hillman

Southwestern Central School: Katlyn Ceci, Abbey Galati, Jacob Galati, Kaitlyn Galati, Timothy Galati, Emma Malmstrom Jouannet, Braley Lachner, Brody Larson, Brianna Lilley, Berke Lindstrom, Mallory Lohnes, Andrew Piazza and Olivia Piazza

Temple Elementary School in Kennedy: Tucker Richard

Westfield Academy and Central School: Connor Graham