New DMV Fees Take Effect in September
Legislative Column by Assemblyman Robert C. Oaks (R,C – Macedon)
September 8, 2009
The 2009-10 New York State budget has received much deserved criticism since being enacted at the beginning of April. The first day of September was one more reminder of why this is a bad budget for our state; especially its hardworking, middle-class taxpayers, as increased Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) fees took effect. Even though I fought against these new and increased taxes and fees and voted against the 2009-2010 budget, they were pushed through by the Assembly Majority as part of a reckless budget that focused on raising taxes and fees instead of restraining spending and developing a realistic solution to help pull New York out of our fiscal crisis. The DMV was hit especially hard with fee increases and I wanted to share the specific information with you before you receive your notice in the mail. Effective September 1, 2009, DMV fees increased on vehicle registrations and driver’s licenses. Motor vehicle registration fees have been raised by 25% on passenger vehicles, commercial vehicles, trailers, motorcycles, taxis and buses, motorboats, ATVs and heavy vehicles. This will equate to an $11 increase on a car weighing 3500lbs. Also, driver’s license fees, original and renewal, are going to receive a 25% increase which means that the average Class D license fee will increase from $50 to $64.50. Lastly, effective April 1, 2010, all registered vehicles will be required to get new license plates. These license plates will cost $25 (a $10 increase from the previous new license fee of $15) and will be required when the car’s registration is renewed. As our state and country face the worst fiscal crisis in recent history, the governor and Legislature should be working together to formulate a plan that will pull our state out of the red and into the black. This plan should not, however, be implemented on the backs of our middle-class families.