Tedisco Honors National Science Bowl Winners from Niskayuna

Team of five boys headed to Golden, Colo., to compete
June 17, 2005
Assemblyman Jim Tedisco meets with the Niskayuna Van Antwerp Middle School National Science Bowl team on the floor of the New York state Assembly. From left are Alex Yepikhin, Spencer Reid, Tedisco, Evan Szakats, Coach Connie Soron, Matt Barnes and Eli Grant.
"They blinded me with science!" said Assemblyman Jim Tedisco (R,C,I-Schenectady-Saratoga) in response to the Van Antwerp Middle School win in the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl regional competition.

Tedisco today honored the five-boy team of eighth-graders and their coach on the floor of the New York state Assembly for their outstanding achievement in this year’s competition.

"This is a great accomplishment for these boys, their teacher, their school and for the entire region," said Tedisco. "Their hard work and efforts have certainly paid off."

This year’s Van Antwerp team members are Matt Barnes, Eli Grant, Spencer Reid, Evan Szakats and Alex Yepikhin. They are led by teacher, advisor and coach Connie Soron.

The competition is a question-and-answer tournament. Teams are quizzed on scientific topics in biology, chemistry, physics, astronomy, earth science, computer science and mathematics. According to the National Science Bowl Web site, the goal of the contest is to "encourage student involvement in math and science activities, improve awareness of career options in science and technology, and provide an avenue of enrichment and reward for academic science achievement."

"Today’s careers depend more and more on science and technology. We need more students like these five young men to continue to bring our country forward in the technological, scientific and medical fields. They have already contributed to the Capital Region, which I encourage them to continue to do, and I hope they’ll one day make a great contribution to the world," Tedisco stated.