Corwin: Deadline for Jobless Benefits Approaches

October 6, 2009
Assemblywoman Jane Corwin today issued a reminder that October 12 marks the deadline for Erie County residents to apply for Special Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Erie County residents that were affected by the August storms should immediately apply.

“The August storms had a devastating impact on our community, and many individuals were left unable to work,” said Corwin. “With the deadline approaching, it’s imperative that those who were impacted by the storm apply for assistance if they need it.”

To qualify for Special Disaster Assistance, individuals need to live within Erie, Cattaraugus or Chautauqua counties. Applicants must first file for unemployment assistance with the Department of Labor and then explain their situation to a representative when contacted.