## ASSEMBLY MEMBER REBECCA A. SEAWRIGHT



ASSEMBLY DISTRICT 76 SeawrightR@nyassembly.gov

Dear Neighbor,

Last night, the New York City Rent Guidelines Board (RGB) voted 7-2 to approve a 1.25% increase for one-year lease renewals and a 2% increase for two-year lease renewals. These increases are effective on leases signed between **October 1, 2017** and on or before **September 30, 2018**.

The RGB holds the important responsibility to balance the interests of tenants with the interests of the real estate industry. Currently, that balance is leaning unfairly toward insatiable real estate interests, leaving rent stabilized tenants in a precarious position, bearing the ever increasing rent burden and overall cost of living. That is why I submitted testimony calling on the Rent Guidelines Board to vote in favor of a rent rollback.

Every day we see tenants in the community office who are facing eviction and harassment by their landlord. If you or someone you know is experiencing harassment by their landlord, please consider my office a resource for dealing with any housing issues you may be experiencing. My office can assist with answers to your rights as a tenant, and provide information on the following:

- Getting repairs
- Harassment and dealing with the threat of eviction
- Rent increases for rent-regulated apartments
- MCI increases
- Rent overcharge
- Buyout offers
- SCRIE/DRIE applications
- Roommates and homesharing
- Forming a tenants' association

We cannot provide legal advice, but can provide referrals to agencies, community groups, and pro-bono legal services. Please see the below information for rent stabilized seniors and disabled individuals who may be eligible for a rent freeze with the SCRIE/DRIE program.

## **Current requirements for SCRIE**

- Must be at least 62 years old;
- Rent an apartment that is regulated by the Division of Housing and Community Renewal (DHCR) (i.e. rent controlled or rent stabilized apartments or hotel stabilized);
- Total annual household income of **\$50,000** or less and;
- Pay more than one-third of the household's total monthly income for rent.

## **Current requirements for DRIE**

- Be at least 18 years old;
- Rent an apartment that is:
  - Regulated by the Division of Housing and Community Renewal (DHCR) (i.e. Rent stabilized units, Rent controlled units, Rent regulated hotel units);
  - Owned by a Mitchell-Lama development, Limited Dividend housing company, Redevelopment company or Housing Development Fund Corporation (HDFC) incorporated under New York State's Private Housing Finance Law;
  - Located in a building where the mortgage was federally insured under Section 213 of the National Housing Act.
- Be named on the lease or rent order or have been granted succession rights to the apartment;
- Have a total annual household income of **\$50,000 or less**;
- Spend more than one-third of your monthly household income on rent; and
- Receive Federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Federal Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs disability pension or compensation, or Disability-related Medicaid if the applicant has received either SSI or SSDI in the past.

Please don't hesitate to contact our community office at 212.288.4607 for more information on this or any other community issue.

My Best,

Rebecca a Seaward

Rebecca A. Seawright