Assemblymember
Phil Steck:

Protecting

our families

Facts you should know
about the NY SAFE Act



How does the new gun-safety law affect you?*

*For more information, see: www.assembly.state.ny.us/gunsafety/

Q: What does the NY SAFE Act do? Q: Will this affect ammunition purchases?

A: Using common sense and reasonable reforms, the law is A: All dealers in ammunition must be registered with the State
designed to make New York a safer place to live: Police, and each sale will require both a state background check
> bans high-capacity magazines and military-style assault weapons and transmission of a record of the sale to State Police, so as to

» ensures all gun purchases are subject to a background check enable alerts of high-volume purchases.

> keeps guns away from convicted felons and out of the hands of
those who pose a danger due to mental illness

>» toughens criminal penalties on those who use illegal guns

. . . A: No. If you have an assault weapon, you have until April 15,
a Howdolfind outif the gun | own is banned? 201410 register it with the state police. There will be a form
available online and registration is free. If you permanently modify

A: Most handguns and guns used for hunting are not your gun so that it is not an assault weapon, you do not have to
assault weapons, and therefore not affected by this law. register it.

When looking to determine whether your gun qualifies as an
assault weapon, there are different military characteristics of
the gun to consider. For a list of makes, models and features,

Q- | own an assault weapon. Do | need to give it up?

Q: Does the new law affect magazines?

please visit: www.nysafeact.com. A: Yes. Beginning April 15, 2013, only magazines with
the capacity to hold 7 rounds of ammunition or less will be
m  What do | have to do to buy a gun from someone sold in New York.

who is not a dealer, i.e. a private seller?
A: Starting March 15, 2013, a dealer must perform a

Q- Is there any exception for historic or antique guns and

NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) AL EALEES

check on the buyer. The dealer will give the prospective buyer A: Yes, they are exempt from the prohibition against transfer.
a form that shows that they passed the check. However, if the gun qualifies as an assault weapon it must be
***The dealer may charge no more than $10. registered.

***Any magazine or gun manufactured more than 50 years ago qualifies as an antique.
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