

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY RANKING MINORITY MEMBER Ways and Means Committee

> COMMITTEE Rules

June 1, 2023

Mr. Robert Megna Budget Director Division of the Budget The Capitol Albany, New York 12210

Mr. Daniel W. Tietz Commissioner Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance 50 North Pearl Street Albany, New York 12243

Dear Budget Director Megna and Commissioner Tietz:

As you are aware, the Enacted Budget allocated \$1 billion in support for the City of New York to provide reimbursement for costs associated with the influx of migrants to the state, including shelter and humanitarian aid. Your offices have been tasked with administering these funds on behalf of the state. As the City of New York continues to resettle migrants in upstate counties, it is important that proper communication occurs between the City of New York and municipalities outside the city where migrants will be housed.

It has come to our attention that New York City has been relocating migrants without much, if any, coordination between city officials and the municipalities where the migrants are being transported and housed. Equally concerning are reports that the city is planning to ignore applicable local laws related to hotel stay lengths. For example, more than 20 migrants were relocated to a hotel in the Town of Colonie this weekend with the intention of them remaining there for up to four months. This is despite the fact that the town has a long-standing ordinance limiting hotel stays to 28 days.

As we have seen in recent years, questionable state spending becomes commonplace during a declared state of emergency, when protocols ensuring proper transparency and oversight are removed. It is imperative that your office ensures any funds allocated by the state, whether spent directly or indirectly, to relocate migrants to other counties be expended consistent with local laws and only in coordination with these counties. We are respectfully requesting information on a number of topics, including:

- Clarification as to whether these state funds will be used to reimburse the City of New York for housing migrants in other parts of the state;
- What policies, if any, are being put in place to ensure the city properly notifies and coordinates with the appropriate government officials in any municipalities where migrants will be housed; and
- Whether the City of New York will be required to affirmatively state they are complying with applicable local laws as part of their plan for spending the funding allocated by the state in our recently enacted budget.

Thank you for your prompt response and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Edward Va

Edward P. Ra 19th Assembly District

Ungelino

Joseph Angelino 121st Assembly District

P. Bange L

Anil Beephan 105th Assembly District

Ken Blankerburg

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Will_ G. Barch

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

Scott Bendett 107th Assembly District

Jacob Blumencranz 15th Assembly District

Harl A Rabence

Karl Brabenec 98th Assembly District

Ari Brown 20th Assembly District

Maijorie J. Syrnes

Marjorie L. Byrnes 133rd Assembly District

Brian Curran 21st Assembly District

Michael Durso 9th Assembly District

NOM

Edward A. Flood 4th Assembly District

Affry L. Jelle

Jeffery Gallahan 131st Assembly District

la Procenter

Alec Brook-Krasny 46th Assembly District

le f.Br

Keith P. Brown 12th Assembly District

Lester Chang 49th Assembly District

C Leste

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Minhael Fijochink

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

 $^{\prime}$

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Jarett Gandolfo 7th Assembly Distric

Jodi Ciglia

Jodi Giglio 2nd Assembly District

andrew Located

Andrew Goodell 150th Assembly District

Have Howting

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

John Lemondes, Jr. 126th Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District

John W. McGowan 97th Assembly District

ian D. Miller

Brian D. Miller 122nd Assembly District

Joseph M. Lighis

Joseph M. Giglio 148th Assembly District

Ster A G

Scott A. Gray 116th Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen 134th Assembly District

Brian Maher 101st Assembly District

Nov M. Amore David G. McDonough

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

John K. Mikulin

John Mikulin 17th Assembly District

Angelo & Morinello

Angelo J. Morinello 145th Assembly District

(Muchael & Nonio

Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

Philip A. Palmesano 132ndAssembly District

· W. IV y

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Matthew J. Slater 94th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen

Robert J. Smullen 118th Assembly District

Michael Tannousis 64th Assembly District

Munden

Michael Novakhov 45th Assembly District

Som Pingpole

Samuel T. Pirozzolo 63rd Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

) Joyla M Loth

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

lim

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District