Assemblyman Jones Accepting Nominations for 2020 Women of Distinction Awards

February 11, 2020

Assemblyman Billy Jones (D-Plattsburgh) announced he is seeking nominations for his fourth annual Women of Distinction Awards. The ceremony, which honors and recognizes extraordinary local women, will take place on Saturday, April 25. Nominations must be received by Sunday, March 29.

“My Women of Distinction Awards are the perfect opportunity to thank some of the many extraordinary women who make the North Country a better place for everyone,” Jones said. “These women help and inspire countless members of our community every day, and they deserve to be recognized for their hard work and dedication.”

Women of Distinction honorees are chosen based on their invaluable contributions in fields such as education, health care, military service and volunteerism. Last year’s Women of Distinction Award winners included Martha Bowen, for her volunteer work with the Special Olympics program; Donna Kissane, for her tireless advocacy as Franklin County manager and school board member; Dr. Kathryn Giroux, for her commitment to providing the North Country with high-quality medical care; Ashley M. Whitty, for her service as a state trooper and National Guard member; Cheryl Maggy, for her help in keeping high school students healthy and active; and Elin O’Hara-Gonya, for her dedication as associate librarian and reference coordinator at SUNY Plattsburgh.

Jones urges members of the community to nominate an inspirational woman they know by Sunday, March 29. Nominees must reside in either Clinton or Franklin counties or in the towns of Hopkinton, Piercefield, Brasher or Lawrence in St. Lawrence County. Nominations can be submitted online at Award winners will be honored at a ceremony on Saturday, April 25 from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Stafford Center Theatre at Clinton Community College, 136 Clinton Point Drive, Plattsburgh. For more information, contact Assemblyman Jones at 518-562-1986 or