Monthly Column from Assemblyman Jake Ashby (R,C,I,Ref-Castleton)

With the school year now behind us, I would like to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of our local high school students who earned the 2019 NYS Assembly Service in Action Award.

My office created the Service in Action Award to honor the high school students who consistently demonstrate a commitment to volunteering and actively serve our community with their time and talents. Each school within the 107th Assembly District has the opportunity to nominate potential recipients with a maximum of two students chosen per school. The following students were the inaugural recipients of the NYS Assembly Service in Action Award:

Lauryn Spiezio and Austin Hackman from Cambridge; Brianna Jones and Carter Bevis from Hoosick Falls; Abigail Utter and Quinn Pratico from Maple Hill; Greta Hermann and Craig Bortnick from Berlin; Catherine Roden and Tyler Price from New Lebanon; Abigail Pauli and Kyle Dillon from Columbia; Elah Ginsburgh and Joseph O’Rourke from Troy; Imani Wyatt and Jack Stevens from Lansingburgh; Emma Carlo and Thomas Rice from Hoosic Valley; Jenna Skype and Hunter Scheriff from Chatham; Caleb Miller from Taconic Hills; Hanna Gardella and Philip Saunders from Ichabod Crane; Giovanna Sestito and Ryan Hayden from Tamarac; Nicholas Spink and Emily Jaworski from Averill Park and Angela Morabito from Catholic High.

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding future leaders and wishing them and their fellow members of the 2019 graduating class best of luck in their future endeavors.

I would also like to remind you that although this year’s legislative session is complete, my office is still here to provide assistance or answer any questions you may have. Please don’t hesitate to call (518) 272-6149 or email me at