Joint Legislative Budget Hearing - Elementary and Secondary Education
February 11, 2020
9:30 AM
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany


Richard A. Carranza
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Shannon Tahoe
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

Michael Mulgrew
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Cassie Prugh
Political Director

Andrew Pallotta
President, New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Jennifer Pyle
Executive Director, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Jaime Alicea
Superintendent, Syracuse City School District

Kriner Cash
Superintendent, Buffalo Public Schools

Terry Dade
Superintendent, Rochester City School District

Edwin Quezada
Superintendent, Yonkers Public Schools

Kaweeda Adams
Superintendent, Albany City District

Dr. Bernadette Kappen
Co-Chair, 4201 Schools Association

Tim Kelly

Christopher Treiber
Associate Executive Director, Interagency Council of Developmental Disabilities

Lindsay Miller
Executive Director, NY Association on Independent Living

Jasmine Gripper
Executive Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Mark Cannizzaro
President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators

Cynthia E. Gallagher
Director of Government Relations, School Administrators Association of NYS

Brian C. Fessler
Director of Gov’t Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Michael Borges
Executive Director, NY Association of School Business Officials

David A. Little, Esq.
Executive Director, Rural Schools Association of NYS

James Merriman
CEO, NYC Charter School Center

Christopher Goeken
Executive Director, Association of Public Broadcasting Stations of New York

Randi Levine
Policy Director, Advocates for Children of New York

Briana McNamee
Dir. Gov’t Relations and Advocacy, New York Library Association

Kyle Belokopitsky
Executive Director, New York State Parent Teacher Association

Lorey A. Zaman

Robert Riyos
Yonkers Council of PTA’s President

Fred Koelbel
Director of Facilities and Transportation, NYS School Facilities Association

Marian Bott
Education Finance Specialist, New York State League of Women Voters

Ian Rosenblum
Executive Director, Education Trust NY

Gamileh Jamil
Director of Upstate Advocacy, NY Immigration Coalition

Helen Roussel
Executive Director, Dyslexia Advocacy Action Group

Kelly Caci
School Psychologist, NY Association of School Psychologists

James Cultrara
Executive Secretary, NYS Council of Catholic School Superintendents

Rabbi Yeruchim Silber
Dir, Government Relations, Agudath Israel of America

Karen Belanger
Executive Director, Westchester Putman School Board Association and Administrators and Lower Hudson Education Coalition

Alli Lidie
Network Lead, NYS Community Schools Network

Marion Waldman
Executive Director, Teach My Kid to Read

Naftuli Moster
Executive Director, Yaffed

Written Testimony
David Friedfel
Director of State Studies, Citizen Budget Commission

The New York State Alliance for Children with Special Needs

Nora H. Johnson
Board of Education President, Port Washington UFSD

Port Washington Union Free School District

David C. Bloomfield
Professor of Education Leadership, Law & Policy

Maury Litwack
Executive Director, Teach NYS

Carmen Collado
Chief Relationship Officer, Shield Institute

Andrew Cook
Superintendent, Washington Saratoga Warren Hamilton Essex (WSWHE) Boces

Dan While
District Superintendent, Monroe 1 BOCES

Claire Raffel
Campaign Director, (WELL) Healthy Kids do Well

Betty Holcomb
Policy Director at Center for Children’s Initiatives, Ready for Kindergarten Ready For College

Rev. Jason J. McGuire
Executive Director. Albany Update, New Yorkers for Constitutional Freedom

Chris Todd
District Superintendent, CITI BOCES, BOCES Educational Consortium

Chandler Jacobs

Lena Bilik
Policy Analyst at Children’s Aid

Ann Marie White, Ed. D.
Executive Director, Children’s Institute

Daryl Hornick-Becker
Policy and Advocacy Associate, Citizens’ Committee for Children of New York

Dyslexia Advocacy Action Group

Generation Citizen

David Christopher
Executive Director, New York Association for Pupil Transportation (NYAPT)

Yomika S. Bennett
Executive Director, New York Charter Schools Association

New York City Charter School Center

Trudy Morgan Dadzie
New York State Network for Youth Success

(NYSSA) New York State School Facilities Association

Faith Behum
VJA Federation of New York