Joint Legislative Budget Hearing - Elementary & Secondary Education
January 26, 2022
9:30 a.m.


Betty A. Rosa
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

David Banks
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Michael Mulgrew
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Andrew Pallotta
New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Jennifer K. Pyle
Executive Director, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Jamie Alicea
Superintendent, Syracuse City School District

Kriner Cash
Superintendent, Buffalo Public Schools

Lesli Myers-Small
Superintendent, Rochester City School District

Edwin Quezada
Superintendent, Yonkers Public Schools

Kaweeda Adams
Superintendent, Albany City School District

Kenneth Hamilton
Superintendent, Mount Vernon City School District

Dr. Bernadette Kappen
Co-Chair, 4201 Schools Association

Stephen Beovich
Vice President, Coalition of Special Act Schools

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Mark Cannazzaro
President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators

Cynthia E. Gallagher
Director of Government Relations, School Administrators Association of NYS

Brian C. Fessler
Director of Government Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Brian S. Cechnicki
Executive Director, ASBO New York

Kyle Belokopitsky
Executive Director, New York State Parent Teacher Association

Jasmine Gripper # 1
Executive Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Jasmine Gripper # 2
Executive Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Jasmine Gripper # 3
Executive Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Alli Lidie
Network Lead, NYS Community Schools Network

Beth Rizzi # 1
President, NYS Association of School Psychologists

Beth Rizzi # 2
President, NYS Association of School Psychologists

Yomika Bennett
Executive Director, New York Charter Schools Association

Jason Montanez
Charter Parent, Charter Parent Council

Edwin Cespedes
Board Member, Success Academy Charter Schools

James Merriman
CEO, NYC Charter School Center

Briana McNamee
Director, Government Relations and Advocacy, New York Library Association

Ben Dubin-Thaler
Phd. Executive Director and Founder, Bio Bus Inc.

Joshua Stapf
Executive Directory, Literacy Rochester

Fred Koelbel
Legislative Committee Chair, NYS School Facilities Association

Nicholas Vallone
President, New York School Bus Contractors Association

Dan White
District Superintendent, BOCES of New York State

David Little
Executive Director, Rural Schools Association of New York

Andy Mager
Organizer, Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation

James Cultrara
Director of Education, New York State Catholic Conference

Avrohom Weinstock
Chief of Staff and Associate Director of Education Affairs, Agudath Israel

Ryan Gallentine
Director, Advanced Energy Economy

Written Testimony
Kathleen Brady-Stepien
President & CEO, The 853 Schools Coalition and the COFCCA

Orville Thomas
Director of Government Relations, Lion Electric

The NYS Alliance for Children with Special Needs

Birth2Five Special Education

The Children’s Agenda

Children’s Aid

CMS, Class Size Matters

Dyslexia Advocacy Action Group

The Education Trust-NY

The Education Law Center

Empire Center For Policy

The League of Women Voters of NYS

Literacy Assistance Center

No Kid No Hunger NY

NYAIL, New York Association on Independent Living

NYAPT, New York Association for Pupil Transportation

NYSNA, New York School Nutrition Association

Saratoga Center For The Family

Gully Stanford
Member Blue Ribbon Commission on Arts Pathways to Graduation,
Advisory Committee Member Mid-Hudson Alliance for Arts Education

Jeffrey Aman
City of Poughkeepsie Arts Commission

Solution Not Suspension Coalition

UJA Federation

The Urban Assembly

Hispanic Federation and LEAD Coalition