2024 Joint Legislative Budget Hearing - Public Protection
January 25, 2024
9:30 a.m.
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany

Transcript Pending
Honorable Joseph Zayas
Chief Administrative Judge, New York State Office of Court Administration

Robert H. Tembeckjian
Administrator & Counsel, New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct

Patricia Warth
Director, New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services

Rossana Rosado
Commissioner, New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

Daniel Martuscello
Acting Commissioner, New York State Department of Corrections & Community Supervision

Dominick Chiumento
Acting Superintendent, New York State Division of State Police

Jackie Bray
Commissioner, New York State Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services

Dru Rai
CIO, New York State Office of Information Technology Services

Nile Anderson
8th Grade Student, MACADEMY School of Science & Technology

Fabiola Dávila
Senior Program Associate, Vera Institute of Justice

Oriana Shulevitz Rosado
Policy and Advocacy Strategist, Immigrant ARC

Marlene Galaz
Director of Immigrant Rights Policy, The New York Immigration Coalition (NYIC)

Ariel Savransky
Senior Advocacy and Policy Advisor, UJA-Federation of NY

Nava Greenfield
Community Advocate, Orthodox Union/Project Protect

Rev. Jim Ketcham
Executive Council Member, NYS Council of Churches

Brian Crow
Executive ADA for Policy, New York County District Attorney

Susan C. Bryant
Executive Director, New York State Defenders Association

Tina Monshipour Foster
President, New York Legal Services Coalition

Kristin Brown
President and CEO, Empire Justice Center

Edward Tase, Jr.
President, Firefighters Association of the State of New York

Kurt Nolan
Executive Director and Counsel, Police Benevolent Association of NYS

Patrick Hendry
President, Executive Director and Counsel, Police Benevolent Association of NYC

Tim Dymond
President, New York State Police Investigators Association

Chris Summers
President, NYS Correctional Officers & Police Benevolent Association Inc. (NYSCOPBA)

Theresa Hobbs
Executive Director, New York State Dispute Resolution Association (NYSDRA)

Helen Skipper
Executive Director, NYC Justice Peer Initiative

Haily Nolasco
Director of Government Relations, Center for Justice Innovation

Jennifer Scaife
Executive Director, Correctional Association of New York (CANY)

Bianca Tylek
Executive Director, Worth Rises

Tanya Krupat
VP, Policy & Advocacy, Osborne Association

Thomas Gant
Community Organizer, Center for Community Alternatives

Written Testimony
Amir Voltaire


Brook Mckenzie

Brooklyn Legal Services Corporation

Cannabis Farmer's Alliance

Center for Elder Law & Justice

Center for Judicial Accountability

Chief Defender Association of NY

Citizens' Committee for Children

City Bar Justice Center

Collective Action to Protect Our Stores

Committee for Modern Courts

Computer & Communications Industry Association

Door's Legal Service Center

Erie County Bar Association

Fines & Fees Justice Center

Five Borough Jobs Campaign

Food Industry Alliance of NY


ICARE Coalition

IOLA Fund Board of Trustees

Kamren Clarke

Katal Center for Equity Health & Justice

Legal Aid Bureau of Buffalo

Legal Aid Society Criminal Defense

Michael Jenkins

National Federation of Independent Business

No Price on Justice

NY Lawyers for the Public Interest

NY Legal Assistance Group

NYS 911 Coordinators Association

NYS Commission on Ethics and Lobbying

NYS Public Employees Federation

NYS Public Interest Research Group

NYS Supreme Court Officers Association

PBA of the NYS Troopers

Prisoners' Legal Services

Prisons Relations Advisory Committee

Quinn Stewart

Retail Council of NYS

Rochester-Monroe Anti-Poverty Initiative

Rural Law Center of NY

Showing Up For Racial Justice

Skie Degale

TASC of the Capital District

Tristan Paul

UJA Federation of NY

Urban Resource Institute

Vera Institute of Justice


Volunteer Lawyers Project of CNY INC

Volunteers of Legal Service