2024 Joint Legislative Budget Hearing - Elementary & Secondary Education
February 1, 2024
9:30 a.m.
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany

Transcript Pending
Betty A. Rosa
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

David Banks
Chancellor, New York City Public Schools

Michael Mulgrew
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Melinda Person
President, New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Rosemary Sinclair
Executive Vice President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators

Cynthia Gallagher Phd.
Director of Government Relations, School Administrators Association of NYS

Jennifer Pyle
Executive Director, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Joseph Hochreiter
Superintendent, Albany City School District

James Varnes, Chief Financial Officer
Buffalo Public Schools

Dr. Carmine Peluso
Superintendent, Rochester City School District

Anthony P. Davis
Superintendent, Syracuse City School District

Dr. Luis Rodriguez
Superintendent, Yonkers Public Schools

Timothy Kelly
Superintendent, St Mary’s Scholl for the Deaf, 4201 Schools Association

John Lopez
President, New York State Coalition of 853 Schools

Lindsey Miller
Executive Director, New York association on Independent Living

Randi Levine
Policy Director, Advocates for Children of New York

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Brian Fessler
Director of Government Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Brian Cechnicki
Executive Director, Association of School Business Officials of NY

Kyle Belokopitsky
Executive Director, New York State Parent Teacher Association

David Little, Esq.
Executive Director, Rural Schools Association of New York

Dan White
District Superintendent, Monroe One BOCES, BOCES of New York State

Maxwell Prime
Director Government Relations and Advocacy, New York Library Association

Dr. Amy S. DelCorvo
CEO/Executive Director, New York State Association for Computers and Technologies in Education

Tommy Smith
President, New York School Bus Contractors Association

David Christopher
Executive Director, NY Association for Pupil Transportation

Jessica Pino-Goodspeed
Coalition Leader, Healthy School Meals for All NY Kids Coalition

Patrick Kenneally
Public Policy and Legislative Committee Chair, New York State Nutrition Association

Sidney Altfield
Executive Director, Teach NYS

Rabbi Yeruchim Silber
Director of New York Governmental Relations, Agudath Israel

Fatima Barker
Interim Executive Director, New York Charter Schools Association

James Merriman
CEO, NYC Charter School Center

Marina Marcou-O’Malley
Interim Co-Executive Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Trudy Morgan Tetteh
Policy Director, NYS Community Schools Network

Jeff Smink
Interim Executive Director, The Education Trust-New York

Chelsea Baytemur
Director of Policy and Advocacy, YMCA of Greater NY

Beatrice Weber
Executive Director, Yaffed

Written Testimony
Asian American Children and Families Project

Bedford Central School District

Black Child Development Institute

Business Council NYS

Center for Science in the Public Interest

Class Size Matters

Community Food Advocates

Emergency Coalition to Save Education Programs

Healthy Meals for All

Island Harvest Food Bank

Mount Vernon

New Yorkers for Culture and Arts

Niskayuna Central School District

NY Association of School Psychologists

NY Association on Independent Living Centers

NY School Nutrition Association

NYS Alliance for Arts Education

NYS Arts in Education

NYS Council of Catholic School Superintendents


On Point for College


Teach My Kid to Read

The Children's Agenda

United Way NYC