Joint Legislative Public Hearing on
2017-2018 Executive Budget Proposal
Public Protection
January 31, 2017
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany


Honorable Lawrence K. Marks
Chief Administrative Judge, New York State Office of Court Administration

John P. Melville
Commissioner, New York State Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services

Michael C. Green
Executive Deputy Commissioner, New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

Anthony J. Annucci
Acting Commissioner, New York State Department of Corrections & Community Supervision

George Beach
Superintendent, New York State Division of State Police

Bill Leahy
Director, New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services

Margaret Miller
Director & Chief Information Officer, New York State Office of Information Technology Services

Robert Tembeckjian
Administrator, NYS Commission on Judicial Conduct

Thomas Mungeer
President, The Police Benevolent Association of NYS Troopers

Christopher Quick
President, New York State Police Investigators Association

Patrick Cullen
President, NYS Supreme Court Officers Association

Bill Imandt
President, Court Officers Benevolent Association of Nassau County

William Dobbins
President, Suffolk County Court Employees Association, Inc.

Michael Powers
President, NYS Correctional Officers & Police Benevolent Association, Inc.

Jonathan Gradess
Executive Director, NYS Defenders Association

Connie Neal
Executive Director, NYS Coalition Against Domestic Violence

Victor Antonio-Perez
Senior Parole Officer, NYS Public Employees Federation

Penny Howansky
Manager of Information Technology Specialist 1

Grant Cowles
Senior Policy & Advocacy Associate for Youth Justice, Citizens Community for Children

Anne Erickson
President & CEO, Empire Justice Center

Blair Horner
Executive Director, New York State Public Interest Research Group

Karen Murtagh
Executive Director, Prisoners Legal Services

Charlotte Carter
Executive Director, NYS Dispute Resolution Association, Inc.

Sebastian Solomon
Director of NYS Policy, Legal Action Center

Terry O’Neill, Esq.
Director, The Constantine Institute, Inc.

Elena Sassower
Director, Center for Judicial Accountability

Written Testimony
Col. Thomas Carello
New York Wing Commander, Civil Air Patrol-United States Airforce Auxiliary

Barbara Bartoletti
Legislative Director, League of Women Voters

Claire P. Gutekunst
President, New York State Bar Association

Mariko Hirose
Senior Staff Attorney, New York Civil Liberties Union

Maria Cilenti
New York City Bar Association

Denise Kronstadt
Deputy Executive Director, The Fund For Modern Courts

Beth Powers
Director, Youth Justice
The Children’s defense Fund –NY