Joint Legislative Public Hearing on
2017-2018 Executive Budget Proposal
Elementary & Secondary Education
February 14, 2017
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany


MaryEllen Elia
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

Carmen Farina
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Michael Mulgrew/ Cassie Prugh-Assistant to President
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Andrew Pallotta/ Chris Black-Legislative Director
Executive Vice President, New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Dr. Edwin Quezada
Superintendent, Yonkers Public Schools, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Dr. Kriner Cash
Superintendent, Buffalo School District

Ms. Barbara Deane-Williams
Superintendent, Rochester School District

Mr. Jaime Alicea
Superintendent, Syracuse School District

Mr. Bruce Karam
Superintendent, Utica School District

Jasmine Gripper
Legislative Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Mark Cannizzaro
Executive Vice President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators – CSA

Cynthia Gallagher
Dir. Govt. Relations, School Administrators Association of NYS – SAANYS

Dr. Bernadette Kappen
Executive Director & Chair, 4201 Schools Association

Julie Marlette
Director of Government Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Michael Borges
Executive Director, NYS Association of School Business Officials

Fred Koelbel
Chair Legislative Committee, NYS School Facilities Association

Dan White
District Superintendent, BOCES of NYS

David Little
Executive Director, Rural School Association of NYS

Bishop Edward Scharfenberger
Albany Diocese, NYS Catholic Conference

Jake Adler
Director Government Affairs, Orthodox Union

Steven Sanders
Executive Director, Agencies for Children’s Therapy Services – ACTS

Betty Holcomb
Policy Director, Center for Children’s Initiatives

Michael Martucci
President, NY School Bus Contractors Association

Michael Cordiello
President AFL-CIO, Local 1181- Amalgamated Transit Union

Peter Mannella
Executive Director, NY Association of Pupil Transportation

Randi Levine
Policy Coordinator, Advocates for Children of New York

Todd Vaarwerk
Director Advocacy & Public Policy, NY Association of Independent Living, WNY Independent Living

Lindsay Miller
Executive Director, NY Association on Independent Living

Mary A. Lagnado
Superintendent, Westbury Union Free School District

Kyle McCauley Belokopitsky
Executive Director, NYS PTA

Written Testimony
James P. Dexter
District Superintendent, WSWHE BOCES and its 31 Component School Districts

Lucy Friedman
President, ExpandEdSchools

Georgia M. Asciutto
Executive Director, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Chris Neitzey
The New York State Network for Youth Success

Grant Cowles, Esq.
Senior Policy and Advocacy Associate for Youth Justice
Citizens’ Committee for Children of New York, Inc.

David A. Little, Esq.
Chief Operating Officer, Reform Educational Financing Inequities Today

Janeene Freeman
CEO, Northeast Charter Schools Network

Marian Bott
Education Finance Specialist, The League of Women Voters of the New York State

Robert E. Biggerstaff, Esq.
Executive Director, The New York State Association of Small City School Districts

Barbara Deane-Williams
Superintendent, Rochester City School District

Bruce J. Karam
Superintendent, Utica City School District

Terry Kim
Senior Policy Analyst, The Children’s Aid Society

Dr. Kriner Cash
Superintendent, Buffalo City School District

Renee Nogales, MPA
New York Business Development Manager, Nurse-Family Partnership National Service Office

NYC Charter School Center

Elizabeth Berka
Health Information Specialist, Southern Tier Independence Center