2016-2017 Joint Budget Hearing
Elementary & Secondary Education
January 27, 2016
Hearing Room B


MaryEllen Elia
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

Carmen Farina
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Michael Mulgrew
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Andrew Pallotta
Executive Vice President, New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Georgia Asciutto
Executive Director, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Dr. Edwin Quezada
Interim Superintendent
Yonkers Public Schools

Linda Cimusz
Interim Superintendent
Rochester School District

Dr. Kriner Cash
Buffalo School District

Ernest Logan
President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators – CSA

Jim Viola
Dir. Govt. Relations, School Administrators Association of NYS – SAANYS

Jasmine Gripper
Legislative Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Bernadette Kappen
Chairperson, 4201 Schools Association

Vivian Higuita
Student, Institute for Special Education

William Wolff
President, NYS Coalition of 853 Schools

Julie Marlette
Director of Government Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Michael Borges
Executive Director, NYS Association of School Business Officials

Fred Koelbel
Chair Legislative Committee, NYS School Facilities Association

David Little
Executive Director, Rural School Association of NYS

Bishop Edward Scharfenberger
Albany Diocese, NYS Catholic Conference

Richard Longhurst
Executive Director, NYS Congress of Parents & Teachers

Kyle Rosenkrans
CEO, Northeast Charter School Network

Randi Levine
Policy Coordinator, Advocates for Children of New York

Alexis Henry
Policy Associate Early Childhood, Citizens Committee for Children

Chris Neitzey
Information and Communications Manager, AfterSchool Works! NY

Michael Martucci
President, NY School Bus Contractors Association

James Hedge
Vice President and Political Dir., ATU, Local 1181

Peter Mannella
Executive Director, NY Association of Pupil Transportation

Barbara Bartoletti
Legislative Director, League of Woman Voters

Mike Neppl
Director of Govt. Relations & Advocacy, NY Library Association

Written Testimony
Jessica Klos-Shapiro
Dir. Policy and Community Education, Early Care & Learning Council

Mark Cannizaro
President, NYSFSA
Vice President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators

Tom Burns
District Superintendent, St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES
Chair, BOCES Educational Consortium

James Dexter
District Superintendent, WSWHE BOCES

Clara Haskell Botstein
Associate Vice President for Early Colleges, Bard College

Susan Ruff
Advocacy Director, Chair, STIC Education Advocacy Team

Asia Thomas
StudentsFirstNY Organizer

Lindsay Miller
Executive Director, New York Association on Independent Living (NYAIL)

Janice Cuddahee
Executive Director, Literacy New York

Laura K. Biggerstaff, Esq.,Counsel
New York State Association of Small City School Districts