Joint Legislative Public Hearings On
2018-2019 Executive Budget Proposal
Public Protection
January 30, 2018
9:30 AM
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany


Honorable Lawrence K. Marks
Chief Administrative Judge, New York State Office of Court Administration

Robert Tembeckjian
Administrator & Counsel, NYS Commission on Judicial Conduct

Roger Parrino
Commissioner, New York State Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services

Michael C. Green
Executive Deputy Commissioner, New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services

Anthony J. Annucci
Acting Commissioner, New York State Department of Corrections & Community Supervision

George Beach II
Superintendent, New York State Division of State Police

Bill Leahy
Director, New York State Office of Indigent Legal Services

Robert H. Samson
Chief Information Officer, New York State Office of Information Technology Services

Bing Markee
Legislative Director, NYS Association of PBAs & Police Conference of New York

Chris McNerney
Police Sergeant, Port Authority Police Department

Michelle Esquenazi
President, NYS Bail Bondsman Association

Jeffrey Clayton, Esq.
Executive/Policy Director of the American Bail Coalition

Thomas Mungeer
President, NYS Troopers PBA

Michael Powers
President, NYSCOPBA

Christopher Quick
President, New York State Police Investigators Association

David Soares
Albany County District Attorney, District Attorneys Association of the State of NY

Glenn Damato
President, NYS Court Clerks Association

Patrick Cullen
President, NYS Supreme Court Officers Association

William Imandt
President, Court Officers Benevolent Association of Nassau County

William Dobbins
President, Suffolk County Court Employees Association, Inc.

Peter Berry
University Police Officer, Police Benevolent Association of NYS

Manuel Vilar
Park Police Officer

Troy Caupin
Park Police Officer

Susan Bryant
Deputy Director, NYS Defenders Association

Grant Cowles
Senior Policy Associate, Citizens Committee for Children

Melanie Blow
Chief Operations Officer, Stop Abuse Campaign

Karen Murtagh
Executive Director, Prisoners Legal Services

Tom Curran, Esq.
Board Member

Sebastian Solomon
Director of NYS Policy, Legal Action Center

Terry O’Neill, Esq.
Director, The Constantine Institute, Inc.

Maha Syed
Executive Director, NY Legal Services Coalition

Dipal Shah
Director of Strategic Partnerships, Center for Court Innovation

Dave George
Associate Director, Release Aging People in Prison Campaign

Scott Paltrowitz
Associate Director of Advocacy and Community Engagement, Correctional Association of NY

Victor Pate
NY Statewide Organizer, Campaign for Alternatives to Isolated Confinement

Connie Altamirano
Survivor, Call to Action Metro NY

Nancy Lorence
Board Member

Robert Corliss
Vice Chairman, Upstate Call to Action

Mary Ellen O’Loughlin
Board Member, Foundation for Survivors of Abuse

Gary Greenberg
President, Protect NY Kids

Elena Sassower
Director, Center for Judicial Accountability

Written Testimony
Richard Barnes
Executive Director, NYS Catholic Conference

Beth Chapman
President, Professional Bail Agents of the United States

Daraius Irani, PH.D.,
Chief Economist, Regional Economic Studies Institute, Towson University

New York State Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

LWV-The League of Women Voters