

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse

COMMITTEES
Judiciary
Environmental Conservation
Housing
Social Services

March 25, 2022

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State Capitol Building, Executive Chamber Albany, NY 12224

Acting Chancellor Deborah F. Stanley SUNY System Administration H. Carl McCall SUNY Building 353 Broadway Albany, NY 12246 Dr. Heidi Macpherson Office of the President SUNY Brockport 350 New Campus Drive Brockport, NY 14420

Dear Governor Hochul, Acting Chancellor Stanley, and SUNY Brockport President Macpherson:

We are writing to you to demand SUNY Brockport <u>immediately</u> rescind Jalil Muntaqim's (aka Anthony Bottom) invitation to speak on campus on April 6th. Giving this convicted cop killer a platform on a publicly funded state campus sends a message to every police officer and their families that New York State does not care about them or their welfare.

The college placing this man on a pedestal is outrageous and an insult to the families of officers Waverly Jones and Joseph Piagentini, who've had to live with the pain of their losses for decades. Likewise, the college's branding of Mr. Muntaqim as a "political prisoner" is without any basis for a man who committed two counts of 1st Degree Murder when he ambushed and killed two NYPD officers in cold blood and showed no remorse or repentance. We believe a cop killer using a public campus and public resources paid for with state tax dollars to advance his political agenda is absolutely disgraceful. This false narrative feeds the frenzy of lawlessness in our state and disrespect for those who defend and protect our law abiding society.

New Yorkers support our men and women in blue. Our offices have received numerous calls from constituents stressing the importance of public officials standing up for law enforcement and the Jones and Piagentini families. As people in positions of influence and power, we have a responsibility to unite rather than divide. Inviting this individual to speak will only divide us, especially at a time when political polarization is at its highest.

We thank you for listening to our concerns and we welcome the opportunity to speak further on this issue so we may bring the situation to an end.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Keith P. Brown
12th Assembly District

Joseph Angelino 122nd Assembly District

Kevin M. Byrne 94th Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Juharl Frontish

Jeffery Gallahan 131st Assembly District

Iffy L. Gelele

Michael Lawler 97th Assembly District Stephen M. Hawley
139th Assembly District

Ken Blanfenbus

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Marjorie L. Byrnes 133rd Assembly District

Michael Durso 9th Assembly District

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Jodi Giglio 2nd Assembly District

John Lemondes, Jr. 126th Assembly District Brian D. Manktolow

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District

John K. Misulin John Mikulin

17th Assembly District

Michael A. Montesano
15th Assembly District

Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

(Nuchael of Nonio

John J. Salka 121st Assembly District

oula M Jost 2

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller 101st Assembly District

Angelo J. Morinello 145th Assembly District

Angelo & Morenello

Philip A. Palmesano 132ndAssembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen Robert J. Smullen 118th Assembly District