

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

June 18, 2020

Hon. Carl E. Heastie Speaker, New York State Assembly Legislative Office Building, Room 932 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. John Flanagan Minority Leader, New York State Senate Legislative Office Building, Room 909 Albany, NY 12247 Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins Temporary President, New York State Senate Legislative Office Building, Room 907 Albany, NY 12247

## Dear Legislative Leaders:

Legislation passed on March 3 added "disease outbreak" to the list of circumstances under which the governor assumed expanded authorities during a declared state of emergency. As you know, those emergency powers were always intended to be temporary.

The COVID-19 virus continues to retreat – infections, hospitalizations, and fatalities have been in steady decline for weeks, with numbers falling below levels that were seen during the early days of the emergency declaration. All regions of New York have started phased re-openings. Slowly but surely, restrictions are being lifted and our constituents can finally experience some level of normalcy to their daily lives.

With that in mind, the time has come for state government to return to its normal operations. New York State simply does not require additional time under one-person rule.

The Assembly Minority Conference is calling for both houses of the Legislature to reconvene and pass a concurrent resolution ending the governor's emergency authorities under Executive Order Numbers 202 - 202.42 and restoring New York State government to its proper form of representative democracy.

This is not a politically driven issue, yet one that demands our immediate attention. Members of both parties have supported measures to curtail the Executive's powers. Taking the necessary step of passing a concurrent resolution acknowledges that we are moving out of the COVID-19 emergency, and it

restores the basic principle that all branches of government should contribute to decisions impacting 19.5 million New Yorkers.

As elected representatives and a co-equal branch of government, the Legislature has the right and responsibility to act. Our conference and constituents believe that action on this matter must come sooner rather than later.

Sincerely,

Will- a. Barely

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

Jake Ashby

107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Harl A Roberce

Karl Brabenec

98<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Marjorie Byrnes

133<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Joe DeStefano

3<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Sury D. frich

Of Chiesty

Gary D. Finch

126<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Ken Blasterbus

Ken Blankenbush 117<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Kevin Byrne

94<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Off Burel Clifford W. Crouch

122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Dame J. DiPrite

David DiPietro

147<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael Fitzpatrick 8<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Julian Frontina

CSF

Christopher S. Friend 124<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Andrew Garbarino 7<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph M. Giglio 148<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph M. Lighio

Andy Goodell 150<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Steve Hawley 139<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Have Howen

Mark Johns 135<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian M. Kolb 131<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Stem

Peter Lawrence 134<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Mike LiPetri 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Nicole Malliotakis 64<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian Manktelow 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Krien D. Market

Dave McDonough 14<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John K. M.Sulin John Mikulin 17<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian Miller 101<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Baian D. Miller

Melissa "Missy" Miller 20<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Angelo & Morenello

Angelo Morinello 145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Phil Palmesano 132<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

The a. Colo

Edward Wa Ed Ra

19<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John Salka 121<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Doug Smith 5<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Daniel Stec 114<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

68th

Michael Montesano
15<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Mike Norris

144<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

(Nuchael of Nonio

Anthony Palumbo 2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Mike Reilly 62<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Colin Schmitt 99<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Robert Smullen
118<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Chris Tague

102<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

355

Mark Walczyk 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Mary Beth Walsh 112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District