Bicycle
Safety Tips

@ Children under 14 must
wear an approved helmet®

@ If no bike lane, ride on the
far right with traffic*

@ Never ride against
traffic*

@ Obey all traffic signs,
signals and pavement
markings®

@ Use proper hand signals™

@ Yield to emergency
vehicles, pedestrians and
approaching vehicles™

@ Walk your bike across
intersections and busy
streets

@ Use a headlight and tail
light at night,* and wear
reflective clothing if you
must ride at night

@ Watch out for opening
car doors and for cars
pulling into traffic

@ Wear bright-colored
clothing

@ Avoid objects on the
pavement that may
cause you to lose control
of your bike

@ Keep at least one hand
on handlebars at all
times*

*New York State law
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and the New York State Helmet Law
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Learn and Use
Proper Hand
Signals

One way to stay safe while biking is
to use hand signals when riding on
the road. Hand signals help prevent
accidents and injuries by letting
motorists and other cyclists know
when you are turning or stopping.

Make sure you practice the hand
signals (illustrated at right) before
you ride your bike on the roads.

Left hand
straight out

Left hand up,

right angle at
elbow or right
hand straight

out to right.
RIGHT TURNS

Left hand
down, right
angle at elbow.

to left.

LEFTTURN STOPPING

Basic Safety Equipment

State law requires bicycles to be equipped with:

Handle Grips

Reflector B) | White Light

Coaster Brake

e Bell or horn

e Brake

o Reflective devices on front and rear
wheels (or reflective tires), and pedals

Use lights at night, both front and rear:
front light (white), visible from 500 feet;
rear light (red or amber), visible from 300
feet. At least one of these lights should be
visible at least 200 feet from the side.

Source: New York State Governor’s Traffic
Safety Committee

For additional safety, bicycles should be
equipped with chain guards and handle
grips. Riders should wear approved helmets,
use pant-leg clips and wear bright-colored
clothes.

New York State Law requires riders and passengers under

the age of 14 to wear approved safety helmets.



Use your head -~

ALWAYS

Wear a helmet!

Pictures courtesy of Consumer Product
Safety Commission

To prevent head injuries, your helmet should:
e Fit comfortably, touching the head all the way
around; be level and stable enough to resist
even violent shakes or hard blows and stay in
place
Have fit pads or rings that can be adjusted
to secure the helmet. It should sit level on
your head, evenly between the ears, low on
your forehead, about two finger widths above
the eyebrows
Have straps adjusted so when you look up,
the front rim should be barely visible to your
eye; the “Y” of the side straps should meet
just below your ear
Have an adjustable chin strap that is snug
against your chin so when you open your
mouth very wide, you feel the helmet pull
down a little bit. The chin straps should be
strong enough to keep your helmet in place
during a fall or collision

A good helmet*
The body of the helmet, made of dense
crushable material, absorbs the force of impact
An outer shell with a ventilation hole helps
prevent injury to the head

The padded lining ensures a comfortable fit

The strong, flexible chin strap helps to keep
the helmet on your head

Helmets made for the U.S. must meet the

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
standard. Look for the CPSC label. The
American Society for Testing and Materials
standard is identical (ASTM F1447), although it
is self-certifying, so a manufacturer can state
that its helmets meet the ASTM standard
without independent certification. The Snell
Memorial Foundation standard (B-95) is more
strict but seldom used

*Sources: Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute, www.bhsi.org;
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, www.cpsc.gov

Parents and children! Take the...

Bicycle Saftety Quiz

Answer TRUE or FALSE
TF
O O 1. Bicycles are toys.

O O 2. Hand signals tell other drivers that you can ride with one
hand.

. Traffic signs and signals are only for car drivers.

O
O
w

O O 4. You only need to wear a helmet when riding on busy
streets.

O O 5. Before you enter a street from an alley or driveway, you
should always stop first.

O O 6. Before you make a left turn, look quickly over your
shoulder to find out what is coming from behind.

O O 7. Before riding, make sure you can stand over the top bar
of your bike.

O O 8. Your brakes are good enough if your rear wheel skids on
loose dirt, but not on dry level pavement.

O O 9. Aloose hicycle chain means that it is easier to pedal.

O O 10. Sidewalks are safer to ride on than roads.

O O 11. You don’t have to stop at a stop sign if you are on a bike
and there are no vehicles coming.

O O 12. It’s generally a good idea to ride a bicycle at least four
feet out from parked cars even if it means being closer
to moving cars.

O O 13. Bicycles should be operated in the middle of traffic lanes.
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Rules of the
road

@ Stop at red lights, stop signs and
before entering a roadway

@ Never wear more than one earphone
attached to a radio or other audio
device

@ Children under 14 years of age
must wear bicycle helmets; child
passengers from age one to age
four must ride in secure safety
seats and the law prohibits
carrying passengers under age
one. Otherwise, do not carry more
passengers than the bicycle is
designed to carry

@ For any bicycle accident involving
death or serious injury, you must
file a report with the Department of
Motor Vehicles within 10 days

@ Ensure the bicycle has the
equipment required by law. See front
page

@ Bicyclists must know and follow the
NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL).
You will be ticketed for violating
the law. Failure to do so is a traffic
infraction and could result in fines.
Local ordinances may also apply

Source: New York State Governor's Traffic
Safety Committee, www.safeny.ny.gov

Riding the right-sized bike
helps keep you safe

To be certain the bike is the proper
height before you ride, make sure you
can stand over the top bar of your bike.
Read your owner’s manual to adjust
your bike to fit you.

Source: U.S. Consumer Product Safety
Commission, WWW.cpsc.gov



