

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

ASSISTANT MINORITY LEADER
PRO TEMPORE

COMMITTEES
Education
Judiciary
Libraries and Education Technology
Mental Health

April 6, 2021

Howard Zucker MD, JD Commissioner, New York State Department of Health Corning Tower Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12237

## Dear Commissioner Zucker:

We write to you today at the request of Superintendents from throughout New York State to inquire about formal and updated guidance as it relates to High School Graduation Ceremonies, Prom and other end of school year events.

Another school year conducted amid the COVID-19 pandemic is nearing its end and, with that, the milestone celebrations and ceremonies that take place in the late spring and early summer need imminent attention. As with other protocols and guidance, school districts statewide are ready and willing to work alongside county health departments to ensure that the health and safety of students, staff and the general public remains top priority. However, without any indication or assistance from the State Department of Health, the districts are unable to move forward with adequately developing the plans that are necessary for these end-of-year events.

As bars and restaurants, movie theaters and gyms continue forward with reopening, and venues to accommodate weddings, professional and collegiate sports, arts and entertainment and other large gatherings prepare themselves to do the same, we cannot forget about the thousands of students throughout New York State.

Time-and-time again you have stressed the importance of maintaining safety and responsible measures, and we agree that these are critical to the forward movement of our state. However, we must also acknowledge that steps toward "normalcy" can be accomplished while also upholding the health and well-being of New Yorkers. All that these students and their supporters want is a chance to celebrate all that they have accomplished. We believe they are owed that chance.

On behalf of New York's students, their families and school districts, thank you for your time and consideration to this very timely and important matter.

Sincerely,

Mary Beth Walsh

112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph Angelino

122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Will Barclay

Assembly Minority Leader

Harl A Robenic
Karl Brabenec

98th Assembly District

Kevin M. Byrne

94<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano

3<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Michael Durso 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Doug Smith

5<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jacob Ashby

107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Ken Blankenbush Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Keith P. Brown
12<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Marjorie L. Byrnes

133<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

David J. DiPietro

Howl J. D: Prite

147<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Christopher S. Friend 124<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jarett Gandolfo
7<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph M. Giglio 148<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Stephen M. Hawley 139<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Kieran Michael Lalor 105<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

K. M. L

John Lemondes, Jr. 126<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

David G. McDonough 14<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Tolly L. Gelle

Jeffery Gallahan 131<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Jodi Giglio

2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Andrew Goodell
150<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen 134<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael Lawler 97<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

An K. Mibulin

John Mikulin

17<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

Brian D. Miller 101<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Michael A. Montesano
15<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Muchael J. Norris Michael J. Norris 144<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Edward P. Ra
19<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John J. Salka

121<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Christopher Tague 102<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Mark C. Walczyk 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Melissa "Missy" Miller 20<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Angelo J. Morinello
145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Philip A. Palmesano 132<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Chi a. Chi

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt 99<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen 118<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael Tannousis 64<sup>th</sup> Assembly District