

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

April 13, 2021

Hon. Carl Heastie Speaker, New York State Assembly Legislative Office Building, Room 932 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Harry B. Bronson, Chairman Assembly Committee on Economic Development, Job Creation, Commerce & Industry Legislative Office Building, Room 846 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Richard Gottfried, Chairman Assembly Committee on Health Legislative Office Building, Room 822 Albany, NY 12248

## Dear Legislative Colleagues:

On March 5, the Legislature passed a measure to address the expanded powers granted to Gov. Cuomo during the COVID-19 emergency declaration. Pursuant to Chapter 71 of the laws of 2021, the governor is now required to inform legislative leaders and relevant committee chairs of any extension, modification or alteration to existing executive orders related to the pandemic. In addition, the Commissioner of Health must certify that any actions are due to an imminent threat to public health or safety.

Executive Order 202.101, adopted on April 6, extended all prior orders that were not superseded, modified or otherwise expired until May 6. As you are aware, this includes the directive implementing an 11 p.m. curfew on the state's bars and restaurants. While curfews were lifted last week for establishments such as pool halls, bowling alleys, casinos and fitness centers, the thousands of small businesses that make up the majority of our restaurant industry are forced to continue under this arbitrary rule.

The Assembly Minority Conference is formally requesting to be provided copies of the required notices and justifications from the governor's office and Commissioner of Health to the Legislature regarding the extension of this executive order. As you can imagine, members of our Conference have heard from countless business owners, employees and constituents who have questioned the need and subjectivity of a prolonged curfew.

The administration has a legal obligation to inform the Legislature and, in turn, the public, of the reasoning behind executive orders that carry such wide-ranging impacts on our communities. We hope that Gov. Cuomo and his administration are meeting that requirement.

Thank you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Will- a. Barely

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

Kevin M. Byrne 94<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph Angelino 122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Ken Blankenbus

Keith P. Brown 12<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District C\$-

Christopher S. Friend 124<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Edward P. Ra

Edward Wa

19th Assembly District

Jacob Ashby

Have A'

107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Karl Brabenec

98<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Marjorie L. Byrnes

Maijorio I Syrus

133<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

David J. DiPietro 147th Assembly District

Hour J. D: Prits

The same of the sa

Michael Durso 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Toly L. gelle

Jeffery Gallahan 131<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Jodi Giglio
2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Andrew Goodell 150<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen 134<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael Lawler 97<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Sim D. Market

Brian D. Manktelow 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Jarett Gandolfo
7<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph M. Giglio 148<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Stephen M. Hawley 139<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Have Howitany

Kieran Michael Lalor 105<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

K. M. L

John Lemondes, Jr. 126<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

David G. McDonough 14<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John K. Mikulin

John Mikulin 17<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

men nin

Melissa "Missy" Miller 20<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Angelo Morenello

Angelo J. Morinello 145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

The a. The

Philip A. Palmesano 132<sup>nd</sup>Assembly District

Och L

John J. Salka 121<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Matthew Simpson

114<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen

Robert J. Smullen 118<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Brian D. Miller

Brian D. Miller 101st Assembly District

michal a. montieres

Michael A. Montesano 15<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Muhael of Nonio

Michael J. Norris 144<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt 99<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Douglas M. Smith 5<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

1 Joyla M July

Christopher Tague 102<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Michael Tannousis

64<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Mark C. Walczyk 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District