

## THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER Ways and Means Committee

Assemblyman 19th District

May 7th, 2021

Mr. Robert Mujica Director of the Budget New York State Division of the Budget State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12210

Dear Director Mujica,

We write to you today to urge your support of the 2021-22 tuition rate setting methodology proposal submitted to the Division of Budget (DOB) by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) for 4410 and 853 schools. These schools play a vital role in providing education for preschool and school age children with disabilities in New York State.

As you are aware, the 2021-22 Enacted Budget included several provisions that improved support for these schools, including:

- Allowing the State Education Department to apply an enrollment adjustment factor as part of the reconciliation tuition rate calculation for Special Act districts, 853, and 4410 schools that saw an enrollment decrease of at least 5% as a result of the ongoing Pandemic.
- Holding harmless prospective tuition rate changes to any of these schools that secured Federal relief, whether it be in the form of the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) or other Federal programs; and
- Continuing to provide funding to offset any impacts from the increase in the minimum wage.

We echo and fully support NYSED's request for the 2021-22 tuition rate setting methodology for 4410 and 853 schools to include the 7% trend factor, as well as the other requests made in their recent letter sent to DOB. Some of these recommendations include:

- The 7% trend factor in the 2021-22 tuition rate methodology is imperative for 4410 and 853 schools across the State. This increase would be proportionate to the Foundation Aid increase school districts received in this year's Enacted Budget.
- Allowing for interim plus growth rates for programs that do not yet have their 2021-22 prospective rate, as this will greatly assist providers with their cash flow needs. Additionally, once these rates are set, we request they include the approved 2021-2022 tuition reimbursement growth.

- The discontinuation of annual reconciliation of tuition rates, and the recommendation that this initiative be revisited for the 2022-2023 school year.
- Allowing the Department to hold harmless prospective tuition rate changes to any of these schools that secured Federal relief, whether it be in the form of the PPP or other Federal programs as included in this year's Enacted Budget.
- Allowing NYSED to apply an enrollment adjustment factor as part of the reconciliation tuition rate calculation that saw an enrollment decrease of at least 5% as a result of the ongoing Pandemic as included in this year's Enacted Budget.

Finally, it is critical that efforts are set in motion to redesign the tuition rate setting methodology for 4410 and 853 schools, as strongly desired by NYSED and echoed by our Conference. The current funding methodology is quite complex and is based on previous years' direct and indirect costs, with little flexibility to support students currently enrolled. The process for obtaining tuition waivers is restrictive for the schools and arduous for all who are involved in this process.

Thank you for your attention to this most urgent request for approval of NYSED's tuition rate setting proposal, and to our support for a redesign of the tuition rate setting methodology for 4410 and 853 schools.

Sincerely,

Edward he

Assemblyman Ed Ra 19<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Will- a. Baula

Assemblyman Will Barclay 120<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

ndan Looda

Assemblyman Andrew Goodell 150<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Dougla M South

Assemblyman Doug Smith 5<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

maybetwalch

Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh 112<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jaret Joudatfa

Assemblyman Jarett Gandolfo 7<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John K. Mikulin

Assemblyman John Mikulin 17<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

1 Muun

Assemblyman Chris Tague 102<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Maijonis J Bying

Assemblywoman Marjorie Byrnes 133<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

As a Chi

Assemblyman Phil Palmesano 132<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Harl A Robert

Assemblyman Karl Brabenec 98<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Neil S. Mahland

Assemblyman David McDonough 14<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

beau

Assemblyman Jake Ashby 107<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Em

Assemblyman Kevin Byrne 94<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Men nin

Assemblywoman Missy Miller 20<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

0

Assemblyman Mike Durso 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Angelo & Morinello

Assemblyman Angelo Morinello 145<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

profi ampelino

Assemblyman Joe Angelino 122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Have Howing

Assemblyman Steve Hawley 139<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michaefenler

Assemblyman Michael Lawler 97<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Ken Blankenburg

Assemblyman Ken Blankenbush 117<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Joseph M. Highis

Assemblyman Joe Giglio 148<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jodi (iglio

Assemblywoman Jodi Giglio 2<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

Rim D. Martiles

Assemblyman Brian Manktelow 130<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

N Chilly

Assemblyman Joe DeStefano 3<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District

Dound J. DiPrets

Assembly David DiPietro 147<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

55

Assemblyman Mark Walczyk 116<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

John Jown

Assemblyman John Lemondes 126<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Assemblyman Chris Friend 124<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Michael Fipetink

Assemblyman Michael Fitzpatrick 8<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Antu T/m

Assemblyman Josh Jensen 134<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Assemblyman Keith Brown 12<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

dif. Schmitts

Assemblyman Colin Schmitt 99<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen\_

Assemblyman Robert Smullen 118<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Assemblyman Michael Tannousis 64<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

thits

Assemblyman Matt Simpson 114<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Muchael & Nonio

Assemblyman Michael Norris 144<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

MW NJ

Assemblyman Michael Reilly 62<sup>nd</sup> Assembly District

My Jellaha

Assemblyman Jeff Gallahan 131<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

Assemblyman Brian Miller 101<sup>st</sup> Assembly District

c.c.: Dr Betty Rosa, Commissioner, New York State Education Department