
Dear Friend,

One of m
y highest priorities 

is to guarantee the rights of 
working people. 

The New York State Assem
bly 

continues to be at the 
forefront of workers’ rights 
initiatives, and has focused 
on rem

oving dangers to workers’ health and 
safety that exist in the workplace and passing new 
protections for working fam

ilies. New York’s paid 
fam

ily leave law is one of the strongest paid fam
ily 

leave policies in the nation, and helps ensure that 
workers don’t have to choose between keeping 
their jobs or taking care of their fam

ilies. 

I hope this brochure is helpful. If you need 
assistance or further inform

ation on this or  
any other m

atter, please do not hesitate to let  
m

e know.

Sincerely,

CARL E. H
EASTIE

Speaker of the Assem
bly

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007
212-312-1400

Room
 932, Legislative Offi

ce Building
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-3791

speaker@
nyassem

bly.gov
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NYS Departm

ent of Labor, 
Unem

ploym
ent Assistance

dol.ny.gov
888-209-8124
For language assistance: 888-469-7365

NYS Division of Hum
an Rights

dhr.ny.gov
Find a local Hum

an Rights Com
m

ission near you:
dhr.ny.gov/hum

an-rights-com
m

issions

NYS W
orkers’ Com

pensation Board
wcb.ny.gov 
877-632-4996
Find a Workers’ Com

pensation Board  
location near you:
wcb.ny.gov/content/m

ain/DistrictOffi
ces/

M
ainPage.jsp

NYS Paid Fam
ily Leave Helpline

844-337-6303 
paidfam

ilyleave.ny.gov

U.S. Dept. of Occupational  
Safety and Health Adm

inistration
osha.gov
800-321-OSHA (800-321-6742)
Find a local office near you:
osha.gov/contactus/bystate/NY/areaoffi

ce
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
New York offers 26 weeks of regular unemployment insurance 
benefits for eligible workers who become unemployed through 
no fault of their own and who are ready, willing and able to 
work. In addition, unemployed workers may be able to qualify 
for additional benefits under certain conditions. The law 
also ensures that workers who must leave work for certain 
family reasons, including domestic abuse and the sickness 
or disability of a family member, may be eligible to collect 
unemployment insurance benefits. Visit dol.ny.gov for more 
complete information.

PAID FAMILY LEAVE LAW
Nearly all private employees in New York State are eligible 
for paid family leave. The program is funded by employees 
through a small weekly payroll deduction. Paid Family Leave 
provides eligible employees job-protected, paid time off to 
bond with a newly born, adopted or fostered child, care for a 
family member with a serious health condition or assist loved 
ones when a spouse, domestic partner, child or parent is 
deployed abroad on active military service. Paid Family Leave 
also provides job protection, continued health insurance 
and protection from discrimination or retaliation. Eligible 
employees may take up to 12 weeks of paid family leave. Upon 
changing employers, eligibility must be re-established. Visit 
paidfamilyleave.ny.gov for more information.

WAREHOUSE WORKER 
PROTECTION ACT
New York passed the Warehouse Worker Protection Act 
(WWPA) to safeguard certain workers in the warehousing and 
storage, merchant wholesaler, electronic stores, mail-order 
house, courier and express delivery service industries from 
undisclosed, unlawful or unsafe work quotas. As of June 19, 
2023, employees covered under the WWPA must receive a 
written description of any quota system their employer uses 
to evaluate job performance, such as standards for speed 

of production, number of tasks performed or the amount of 
material handled or produced. Any quotas the employer uses 
must not interfere with legally protected rest, meal or bathroom 
breaks. For more information about these requirements, to 
download a complaint form or submit a complaint online, visit 
dol.ny.gov/WWPA.

OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY  
AND HEALTH
The Right to Know Law requires the New York State 
Department of Health to compile lists of toxic substances and 
make this information available to employers, who are then 
obligated to inform employees about any known hazards 
present in the workplace and the effects they may have on an 
exposed employee. Employers must also institute a training 
program to educate employees about protective measures 
necessary for their safety. Visit health.ny.gov/environmental/
workplace/right_to_know for more information. 

If you feel that you are being exposed to toxic substances and 
your employer has not taken measures to inform you, contact 
the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) at 800-321-OSHA (800-321-6742). The law contains 
a “whistleblower” provision prohibiting an employer from 
discharging or disciplining an employee for asserting their 
rights guaranteed under this measure.

NONPAYMENT OR 
UNDERPAYMENT OF WAGES
Employees are entitled to be paid for all of their hours of work. 
The state Department of Labor’s Division of Labor Standards 
investigates all complaints of minimum wage, unpaid wage 
and unpaid wage supplement cases. Employees who think 
they have not been fully paid for their work should contact 
the Division of Labor Standards by visiting dol.ny.gov/labor-
standards-0 or call 888-52-LABOR (888-525-2267) to file a 
complaint. Employers who continually violate this law could 
face felony charges.

NEW: PAID PRENATAL LEAVE
Starting January 1, 2025, state law gives privately-
employed pregnant workers the right to paid time off for 
prenatal care on top of their existing sick leave. Eligible 
employees may take up to 20 hours of paid prenatal 
leave annually. This program is part of the state’s paid sick 
leave program, separate from paid family leave. For more 
information, visit ny.gov/programs/new-york-state-
paid-prenatal-leave.



Equal pay
New York State’s Labor Law protects employees from 
retaliation for sharing wage information, removes loopholes 
used by employers to discriminate by way of differential pay 
and ensures that all individuals with status within a protected 
class have access to appropriate legal remedies for such  
wage discrimination.

Sexual harassment
Sexual harassment in the workplace is a prohibited form 
of sex-based discrimination. It may include acts such as 
sexually offensive jokes, requests for sexual favors, displaying 
pornography, coerced sex acts, comments about a person’s 
gender or sexual preferences, sexual gestures, unnecessary 
touching or constant brushing against a person’s body.  
Sexual harassment may also include quid pro quo trading 
benefits for requests, as well as acts that create a hostile  
work environment.

Discrimination due to claim for compensation
Employees should be able to access workers’ compensation 
when injured on the job without fear that doing so would 
affect their employment status. Employers cannot take action 
against employees who have claimed or attempted to claim 
workers’ compensation or who have testified or plan to testify 
in a workers’ compensation hearing. Complaints of such 
discrimination should be filed with the Workers’ Compensation 
Board within two years of the violation. If the board finds 
that the employee was discharged or demoted because of 
discrimination, the employer will be subject to a fine of up  
to $500.

Discrimination due to participation in  
legal activities
Employers in New York State are restricted from discriminating 
against their employees and job applicants based on certain 
off-work activities. An employee is free to take part in lawful 
political or recreational activities, use legal consumable 

products or participate in labor union proceedings during off-
work hours. If an employee feels they have been discriminated 
against because of off-the-job activities, they are entitled to 
seek relief and damages.

Whistleblowers
Workers are protected against retaliation or discrimination 
by their employer for taking action against an employer’s 
unsafe and unlawful activity. If an employer does something in 
violation of the law, rules or regulations and creates a danger 
to public health and safety, the employee can disclose this to a 
supervisor or public body after giving the employer notice and 
a reasonable time to cure the problem, provide information in 
a public investigation, hearing or inquiry or refuse to take part 
in the activity. If an employer retaliates for these actions, the 
worker may bring a lawsuit against the employer for relief. 

Discrimination due to display of the American flag
Employees are protected from discharge or discrimination 
for displaying the American flag on their person or at 
their workstation, as long as it doesn’t interfere with the 
employee’s job duties. If the human rights commissioner finds 
discrimination, the employer may face a fine of up to $2,000 
and a court can order reinstatement with full benefits.

Protections for interns and non-employees
Interns, contractors, subcontractors, vendors, consultants 
and other persons providing services under a contract are 
protected from harassment and other forms of unlawful 
discrimination in the workplace. They are also protected from 
retaliation if they oppose discrimination or file a complaint. 
It is unlawful to subject them to conduct which creates an 
intimidating, hostile or offensive working environment.

Pregnancy
Pregnancy discrimination is a prohibited form of gender-
based discrimination. It can also be a form of familial status 
discrimination. Employers are required to provide reasonable 
accommodation of pregnancy-related conditions for employees.

DISCRIMINATION IN THE WORKPLACE
 

Workers’ compensation benefits
A worker who becomes disabled as the result of a job-related 
injury or illness is entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. 
Workers’ compensation maximum benefits equal two-thirds 
of the injured worker’s average weekly wage for the previous 
year, up to $1,171.46 for those injured on or after July 1, 
2024, indexed annually. This maximum benefit increases on 
July 1 of each succeeding year. Injured workers who have 
questions and concerns about their rights and benefits under 
the workers’ compensation law can receive assistance directly 
from the Workers’ Compensation Board by contacting the 
Office of the Advocate for Injured Workers at 877-632-4996. 

Survivors’ benefits
Survivors who are dependents of workers killed on the job or 
who die as a result of an occupational injury or disease are 
also eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. A surviving 
spouse and other dependents may receive benefits of two-
thirds of the deceased worker’s wages up to the maximum in 
effect at the time of death. In some cases, surviving parents 
or the estate may be entitled to a sum of $50,000. Funeral 
expenses may also be paid up to $12,500 in metropolitan New 
York counties or up to $10,500 in all others.

Occupational diseases
Workers who contract slow-starting occupational diseases 
may still collect workers’ compensation benefits. If the disease 
develops long after the worker has been exposed to the 
condition that caused the disease, a claim for benefits may 
be filed as long as it is done within two years of the time the 
worker became disabled and discovered the disease arose out 
of his or her employment.

Occupational health clinics
New York’s regional occupational health clinics are located 
throughout the state. They can provide a diagnosis of 
occupation-related illnesses and will investigate the problem’s 
source to help prevent future illnesses. For more information,  
you can visit health.ny.gov/environmental/workplace/clinic_
network.htm or call the New York State Department of Health 
Occupational Health helpline at 866-807-2130.

Pregnancy disability
Employees who seek disability leave benefits for a disability 
due to pregnancy are entitled to a maximum of 26 weeks. To 
file a claim for pregnancy disability benefits, the employee 
should notify the Workers’ Compensation Board within 30 
days of becoming disabled in order to receive full benefits. 
Workers on unemployment insurance are entitled to receive 
pregnancy disability benefits when they are disabled due 
to a pregnancy-related condition and unable to seek work. 
Employees with questions concerning eligibility for pregnancy 
disability benefits should contact the Workers’ Compensation 
Board. You cannot collect disability benefits and paid family 
leave benefits at the same time. The total combined disability 
leave and paid family leave in any 52-week period may 
not exceed 26 weeks. Visit wcb.ny.gov/content/main/
DisabilityBenefits/employee-disability-benefits.jsp for 
more information.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION AND DISABILITY BENEFITS

If an employee has been discriminated against 
because of race, creed, color, national origin, sexual 
orientation, military status, family status, sex, age, 
marital status, domestic violence victim status, 
disability, pregnancy-related condition, genetic 
predisposition or carrier status, prior arrest or 
conviction record, gender identity or expression or 
as retaliation for opposing unlawful discriminatory 
practices, they should file a complaint with the  
New York State Division of Human Rights. Visit  
dhr.ny.gov/complaint for more information.

Notice of rights
Employers and their insurance carriers are required 
to give employees who may be eligible for workers’ 
compensation benefits or disability benefits written 
notice of their rights under these two programs. Workers 
who may be eligible for compensation payments must 
receive the notice as soon as possible following a 
work-related accident or injury. Workers who are off 
the job for seven consecutive days due to disability 
must receive their notice within five days. For more 
information, visit wcb.ny.gov or call 877-632-4996.


