Contact: Phil Oliva, (518) 455-3756
For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, June 6, 2006

Tedisco, Assembly Minority Hold Disability Awareness Day Ceremony
"Excelsior Awards for Excellence" presented for extraordinary achievements

Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco (R,C,I-Schenectady-Saratoga) and his colleagues today held their fourth annual Disability Awareness Day ceremony at the State Capitol in Albany.

"I am proud to be hosting the fourth annual Disability Awareness Day celebration," Tedisco said. "Every year, my conference and I set aside a day in June to honor those who triumph over personal obstacles to achieve greatness. I am pleased to welcome my constituent, Eva Galvin, and all of the other fine individuals who made this day possible."

The group presented the "Excelsior Award for Excellence" to people from across the state who have succeeded despite their disabilities. The award honors the extraordinary achievements and public service of those who have overcome physical and other personal challenges.

"My family and I have dedicated our lives to helping people overcome serious physical difficulties," said Assemblyman Matthew Mirones (R,C,I-Staten Island, Brooklyn), Ranking Minority member on the Assembly Mental Health Committee. "It is gratifying to me to see so many wonderful honorees here in Albany today. Disability Awareness Day has become a great Assembly Minority tradition, and I hope it continues far into the future."

"This is a special day for me and my colleagues, as it allows us to recognize and reward the accomplishments of exceptional individuals in our districts," said Assemblyman Bill Reilich (R,C,I-Greece). "I am happy to have high school basketball phenomenon Jason "J-Mac" McElwain with me today. This young man is a true hometown hero. With less than four minutes to go in the final home game of his team's season, Jason hit six three-point shots and one two-pointer, carrying his team to victory."

Other Assembly Minority members participating in today's ceremony were: Assemblyman Marc W. Butler (R,C,I-Newport); Assemblyman Gary D. Finch (R,C-Springport); Assemblyman Roy McDonald (R,C,I-Wilton); Assemblyman Tom McKevitt (R,C,I-East Meadow); Assemblyman Joel M. Miller (R,C-Poughkeepsie); Assemblyman Chris Ortloff (R,I,C-Plattsburgh); Assemblywoman Annie Rabbitt (R,C-Greenwood Lake); Assemblyman Joseph S. Saladino (R,C,I-Massapequa);Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward (R,I,C-Willsboro); and, Assemblywoman Dierdre "Dede" Scozzafava (R,C,WF,I-Gouverneur).

New York State Assembly
[ Welcome Page ] [ Minority Press Releases ]