Contact: Phil Oliva, (518) 455-3756
For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, January 2, 2007

Tedisco, Assembly Minority Members Welcome New Members
Ball, Duprey, Lopez, Molinaro Join Conference, Spano Re-Joins

Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco (R,C,I-Schenectady, Saratoga) and his colleagues today began the year by welcoming five new Minority Assemblymembers at a swearing-in ceremony in Albany. The Hon. Vito C. Caruso, Administrative Judge for the Fourth Judicial District, presided over the event.

The new legislators are Assemblyman Gregory R. Ball (R,I,C-Carmel), Assemblywoman Janet L. Duprey (R,I,C-Peru), Assemblyman Peter D. Lopez (R,C,I-Schoharie), Assemblyman Marcus J. Molinaro (R,C,I-Tivoli), and Assemblyman Mike Spano (R,I,C-Yonkers).

"Today is a new day for the Assembly Minority Conference and for people across New York State," Tedisco said. "My colleagues and I are eager to work with these new citizen legislators to begin the important work of reforming government, lowering property taxes and exercising fiscal discipline."

Ball, a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy, represents the 99th Assembly District. He served as an Air Force protocol officer working for several four-star generals, including the Secretary of the Air Force and the Air Force Chief of Staff. Ball also worked for an American-owned international redevelopment company that focuses on environmentally-friendly smart growth.

Duprey, who represents the 114th Assembly District, brings decades of experience to the Assembly. In 1986, she was elected Clinton County Treasurer, a position she held until last month. In 2004, Duprey was honored by her peers as the New York State Finance Official of the Year.

Lopez will serve on behalf of the people of the 127th Assembly District. He has served as Schoharie County Clerk since 2004 and previously held several important positions on staff in the state legislature. Lopez also was a village trustee, town councilman and member of the Schoharie County Board of Supervisors, where he devoted himself to improving government cost-effectiveness.

Molinaro represents the 103rd Assembly District. In 1994, when he was just 18, he was elected to the Tivoli Board of Trustees - making him the youngest person ever elected to office in New York State. Molinaro also served as Mayor of Tivoli for five terms and four terms as a Dutchess County Legislator.

Spano, from the 93rd Assembly District, previously served six terms in the Assembly. He was a lead advocate for passage of New York's Megan's Law. As Vice-Chair of the Assembly Minority Steering Committee and Chair of the S.A.V.E. NY Task Force, he traveled across the state to push for civil confinement and the Sexual Assault Reform Act.

"Congratulations to Greg, Janet, Pete, Marc and Mike. We welcome them into our fold," Tedisco added.

New York State Assembly
[ Welcome Page ] [ Minority Press Releases ]