Contact: Phil Oliva, (518) 455-3756
For Immediate Release:
Tuesday, June 5, 2007

Tedisco, Assembly Minority Hold Disability Awareness Day Ceremony
"Excelsior Awards for Excellence" presented for extraordinary achievements

Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco (R,C,I-Schenectady-Saratoga) and his colleagues today held their fifth annual Disability Awareness Day ceremony at the State Capitol in Albany.

"I am proud to be hosting the fifth annual Disability Awareness Day celebration," Tedisco said. "Every year, my conference and I set aside a day in June to honor those who triumph over personal obstacles to achieve greatness. I am pleased to welcome my constituent, David York, and all of the other fine individuals who made this day possible."

The group presented the "Excelsior Award for Excellence" to people from across the state who have succeeded despite their disabilities. The award honors the extraordinary achievements and public service of those who have overcome physical and other personal challenges.

"Just being a part of this ceremony, where we honor people who have overcome so much to excel in their communities, is an honor for me," said Assemblyman Tom McKevitt (R,C,I-East Meadow), Ranking Minority member on the Assembly Mental Health Committee. "It is gratifying to me to see so many wonderful honorees here in Albany today. Disability Awareness Day has become a great Assembly Minority tradition, and I hope it continues far into the future."

"Raising awareness about disabilities has always been important to me," said Assemblyman Marc W. Butler (R,C,I-Newport). "That is why I have brought the Herkimer Area Resource Center Chorus to Albany today. This group, which has performed throughout the Mohawk Valley, embodies the spirit, enthusiasm and dedication that so many of our honorees here also exhibit."

Other Assembly Minority members participating in today's ceremony were: Assemblyman Tom Alfano (R,C,I,WF-21st District), Assemblyman Greg Ball (R-Carmel), Assemblyman Will Barclay (R,C,I-Pulaski), Assemblywoman Nancy Calhoun (R,C-Blooming Grove), Assemblyman James Conte (R,C,I,WF-Huntington Station), Assemblywoman Janet L. Duprey (R,I,C-Peru), Assemblyman Roy McDonald (R,C,I-Wilton), Assemblywoman Annie Rabbitt (R,C,I-Greenwood Lake), Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward (R,I,C-Willsboro) and Assemblywoman Dierdre "Dede" Scozzafava (R-Gouverneur).

New York State Assembly
[ Welcome Page ] [ Minority Press Releases ]