Mikulin Launches Boater Safety Course to Save Lives

Public Is Encouraged to Sign Up for June 19 Event in Levittown Now

Assemblyman John Mikulin (R,C,I-Bethpage) united with Gina Lieneck, the mother of an 11-year-old girl who was killed in a boating accident in 2005, and state Assembly members from across Long Island to spread awareness for the importance of Brianna’s Law, a recent state law named after Lieneck’s daughter that requires motorized watercraft operators to complete a state-approved safety course by 2025.

“Although nothing can bring Brianna back, I commend Gina for making it her daughter’s legacy to help save the lives of so many other people by spreading awareness of the importance of boating safety and not boating while intoxicated,” said Mikulin. “It is my pleasure to join with her and to support this mission to better protect the people of the 17th Assembly District. I strongly encourage everyone with a boat or personal watercraft to sign up as soon as possible for a course as they are now mandatory and space is limited. Thank you Gina for sharing your story, your heartache, and inspiring so many to protect themselves and their loved ones and be safer.”

To help save lives and prevent boating accidents this summer, Mikulin is partnering with boating safety education organizations to offer courses to the public, including an event in the 17th Assembly District on June 19. The event will be held from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Levittown VFW Post 9592, located at 55 Hickory Lane in Levittown. As space for the event is limited, he encourages people to sign up now using the following link: https://nyboatschool.com/register-now

In New York State you must be at least 10 years old to operate a powerboat or 14 years old to operate a personal watercraft like a Jetski or Waverunner. Boating safety courses are mandatory for all operators of personal watercraft, regardless of age. Anyone born after January 1, 1993 must complete a boating safety course in order to operate any powerboat. Those born on or after January 1, 1988 must complete this course before January 2022. Those born on or after January 1, 1983 must complete this course before January 2023. Those born before January 1, 1978 must complete this course before January 2024. All powerboat operators must complete this course before January 2025 regardless of age.

More events are available throughout Long Island this summer through Safe Boating America and New York Boating Safety, as well as NY Boat School (which is holding the June 19th event). A complete schedule of available classes is included in the attached flyer and is also available by contacting Assemblyman Mikulin’s office or any of the schools directly. You can contact Safe Boating America at www.safeboatingamerica.com or (516) 216-4410, New York Boating Safety at www.nyboatingsafety.com or (516) 325-1251, or NY Boat School at www.nyboatschool.com or (718) 956-5000.