Assemblyman Smullen Honors Johnstown High School Stop DWI Scholarship Recipient

Assemblyman Robert Smullen (R,C,I,SAM-Meco) congratulated Johnstown High School Senior Kalena Eaton at Monday’s Fulton County STOP DWI event for receiving the Ron Hill Memorial Scholarship and Antone Ralbovsky Scholarship. The scholarships are awarded to an exceptional student who plans to pursue a career that would enhance traffic safety and the rehabilitation of DWI offenders.

“Congratulations to Kalena Eaton for receiving these awards for her exceptional academic and extracurricular resume,” Smullen said. “I am confident that she will make a successful forensic psychologist and help us combat the tragedy of impaired driving and its negative impact on so many lives. Thank you to the Fulton County Traffic Safety Board for, once again, hosting this important event, and our three honored officers for their around the clock work to prevent DWI.”

The Ron Hill Memorial Scholarship is named after a former longtime town justice from the Town of Ephratah in Fulton County and The Antone Ralbovsky Memorial Scholarship is named after a 27-year veteran of the Gloversville Police Department and former chairman and longtime member of the Traffic Safety Board.

At the event, the Fulton County Traffic Safety Board also recognized three officers for their efforts to combat driving while intoxicated: Officer Jeremy Gandara of the Gloversville Police Department, New York State Trooper Matthew Bowers, and Deputy Aaron Sherwood from the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office.