•  Summary 
  •  Actions 
  •  Committee Votes 
  •  Floor Votes 
  •  Memo 
  •  Text 
  •  LFIN 
  •  Chamber Video 

A02208 Summary:

COSPNSRRaia, Finch
Amd 616, Tax L
Provides additional personal exemption of $650 for each dependent who is 65 years of age or older and whose gross income for the calendar year is not more than $1500.
Go to top    

A02208 Actions:

01/17/2017referred to ways and means
Go to top

A02208 Memo:

Memo not available
Go to top

A02208 Text:

                STATE OF NEW YORK
                               2017-2018 Regular Sessions
                   IN ASSEMBLY
                                    January 17, 2017
        Introduced  by M. of A. MONTESANO, RAIA, FINCH -- read once and referred
          to the Committee on Ways and Means
        AN ACT to amend the tax law, in relation to personal exemptions of resi-
          dent individuals
          The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and  Assem-
        bly, do enact as follows:

     1    Section  1.  Section  616  of  the  tax law is amended by adding a new
     2  subsection (c) to read as follows:
     3    (c) Additional exemption. In addition to the exemption provided for in
     4  subsection (a) of this section for taxable years beginning after  Decem-
     5  ber thirty-first, two thousand seventeen, a resident individual shall be
     6  allowed  an  additional  New York exemption of six hundred fifty dollars
     7  for each dependent (as defined in this subsection) who is of the age  of
     8  sixty-five  or  older, whose gross income for the calendar year in which
     9  the taxable year of the taxpayer begins is not more than fifteen hundred
    10  dollars.  For the purposes of this subsection the term "dependent" shall
    11  mean any of the following individuals over one-half whose  support,  for
    12  the  calendar  year in which the taxable year of the taxpayer begins was
    13  received from the taxpayer:
    14    (1) the father or mother of the taxpayer;
    15    (2) a stepfather or stepmother of the taxpayer;
    16    (3) an individual (other than an individual who at any time during the
    17  taxable year was the spouse) who for the taxable year of  the  taxpayer,
    18  has  as  his  principal place of abode the home of the taxpayer and is a
    19  member of the taxpayer's household.
    20    § 2.  This act shall take effect immediately.
         EXPLANATION--Matter in italics (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
                              [ ] is old law to be omitted.
Go to top