Millman and Dilan Bill to Keep Rider and Union Representatives on MTA Board Becomes Law

March 9, 2010
Albany – Legislation sponsored by Senator Martin Malave Dilan and Assemblywoman Joan L. Millman to ensure that rider and union representatives can continue serving as members of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) Board has become law. The bill, A.7137-B in the Assembly and S 4480-C in the Senate, would extend the provision allowing two non-voting representatives to remain members of the 17-person MTA Board, each performing rotating 18-month terms with four alternate non-voting members. Although these board members cannot cast votes on MTA proposals, they are consulted and involved in MTA deliberations.

“I will continue to advocate for the riding public, including students, senior citizens and people with disabilities,” pledged Assemblywoman Millman. “The MTA’s proposal to cut funding for student Metrocards, reduce Access-a-Ride service, and decrease bus and subway service must be averted. I support several methods of raising revenue to fund the MTA, such as reintroducing the commuter tax, institution a residential parking permit system, tolling East River bridges and utilizing unused MTA real estate assets.”

Assemblywoman Millman, a member of the Assembly Committees on Transportation and Corporations, Authorities and Commissions, cheered the new law, adding, “It is critical that rider and worker advocates are represented on the MTA board, especially when so much is at risk. I am glad that I was able to help ensure sure that the riding public and organized labor has a voice in MTA discussions.”

“Now, more than ever, the Metropolitan Transportation Authority needs as many voices as possible as it continues to address and meet the challenges laid before them. Riders and organized labor offer a unique perspective to discussions. Looking forward, it will be those with the greatest stake in public transit, that will ultimately steer it to fiscal solvency and organizational accountability,” said Senator Martin Malavé Dilan, Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee.