Captiol News from The Assembly Minority Conference
The Assembly Minority Conference

Leader Barclay Recognizes Local High School Students With Community Service Youth Award

Assembly Minority Leader Will Barclay (R,C-Pulaski) awarded 26 area high school students from 11 school districts with the Community Service Youth Recognition Award. This award recognizes outstanding high school students who volunteer and work tirelessly to serve and enrich communities throughout the 120th Assembly District. Nominations were sought through local school districts and home school associations for student leadership and community service contributions.

“Congratulations to each of the students who were selected and who give their time selflessly to help others and their community. Whether it’s through using talents to assist those in need at a local food pantry, mentoring younger students or continuing traditions in extracurricular activities, these students help define service leadership. This award is one small way to recognize and encourage students who give their time and talents and inspire others,” said Leader Barclay.

Recipients of the award this year were: from Phoenix CSD Zoe Gordon, Grace Calkins, and Gabbriella Runge; from Oswego City SD Lilly Allison, Addison Stepien, and Quinten Denkenberger; from Belleville Henderson CSD Elaina Sugden and Kenneth Zehr; from Pulaski Academy & Central Schools Eileen Carnes, Christine Mintonye, and Teigen Reiter; from Fulton City SD Anna Bednarz and Aiden Trude; from Central Square CSD Marishka Biela, Grace Roberts and Matthew Stevens; from Altmar-Parish-Williamstown CSD Emma Michaud; from Sandy Creek CSD Marissa Brennan, Elizabeth Glazier and Abby Chen; from Mexico Academy & CSD Journey Girard, Samantha Buckley and Amber Burke; from Hannibal CSD Alex Hall and Lena Turaj; from Red Creek CSD Patrick Boyle.

A special thank you to Oswego’s Mayor Billy Barlow for hosting the event at the Roy C. McCrobie Building in Oswego.