Stavisky and Rozic Congratulate 2013 Sloan Award Winners

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky (D-Flushing) and Assemblywoman Nily Rozic (D-Fresh Meadows) congratulated two outstanding teachers who were among this year’s seven Sloan Awards for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics winners.

Yunseon Esther Kim, who teaches Algebra at Francis Lewis High School in Fresh Meadows, and Thomas Sangiorgi, who teaches Chemistry at Townsend Harris High School in Flushing, were both recognized for their innovative teaching methods and the impressive results of their students.

The Sloan Awards are given annually by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and the Fund for the City of New York to recognize creativity and achievement in the teaching of science and mathematics and are chosen from nominations by administrators, parents, students and teachers.

For more information about the awards and this year’s winners, visit